logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2007, 12:04 AM   #1
cocoonfx
cocoonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tamworth,UK
Posts: 576
Default Capturing snipets from other pages

Hello

I was wondering if it is possible to grap info from another page dynamically to save time copying pasting etc...

I.e

News page on the site has a paragraph i want to dynamically grab this and place it on my front page?

Any ideas?

Regards
Cocoon
cocoonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 02:37 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Look in the manual for 'Snippets'. There is a built in function in DW for this I think.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 10:36 AM   #3
fwr1000
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manistee, Michigan
Posts: 160
Default

Snippets are more for storage of code (html, php, javascript, etc) that you may want to use over again on a different site. Example might me a php form mail script.

Sounds like what you want to do is use information from one page on your site to be repeated on another page. One method is to use SSI (server side includes). Might want to do a search in the DW Club or a Google to learn more on this.
fwr1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 01:21 PM   #4
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

or do you want to create a library of code for use time and time again
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 06:18 PM   #5
cocoonfx
cocoonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tamworth,UK
Posts: 576
Default

Hi guys


I was thinking i have a form i have created in php and i was wondering if i can mirror the form say on my index.html page.

I can create the same form in flash and get a php validation on the form and insert this into my index.html page.

Does this sound a bit daft?
cocoonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 07:32 PM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

are you wanting 1 form which you can use on different pages
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 08:09 PM   #7
cocoonfx
cocoonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tamworth,UK
Posts: 576
Default

yes exactly....
cocoonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2007, 06:37 AM   #8
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

your using PHP so just include it

create your form and fields and include('form.php')

or

i have some new tuts about to go live. I would sugest you look at the OOP vid. It will save you loads of coding
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com