logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Web Design
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2007, 05:02 PM   #1
twilightballoons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default Photoshop to dreamweaver

I am trying to make a site that will work with oscommerce.

I have been trying to work out how to make things work. If I design a template in photoshop, slice it and then transfer it to dreamweaver to make it editable. The problem I have is that when I want to put text into an area, as soon as I delete it and start typing the text goes in the middle of the area not at the top as I want it to go. Does anybody know how to fix this or are able to point me in the right direction?

Also, is it worth considering templates to use instead, I have seen a few on ebay but not sure if they are any good, does anybody know anything about them?

Thanks for any advice.
twilightballoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2007, 06:13 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

templates are an integrated part of DW, all you need is in the help files
If you mean Photoshop design templates, then that depends on your graphic skills, you can buy them I guess if you think it would help you.

for your text, it sounds like you are designing your website using HTML tables for layout. All table cells have a vertical alignment set to middle by default. Check your table cell properties and make sure you set the vertical alignment to top, either by CSS or HTML.
HTML Code:
<td valign="top">
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2007, 12:49 PM   #3
twilightballoons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

I have tried align but that does not work.

What I mean is that if I make a design in photoshop and want areas where I can type using dreamweaver I leave those areas as white space, then I save optimised and open the file in dreamweaver. Then I want to delete the spaces that I want to type in, then instead of the text going to the top of the area it always starts at the middle and I dont know how to fix it?

Has anyone got any clues and does anybody know if the templates selling ebay area any good??

Thanks.
twilightballoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2007, 03:44 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twilightballoons View Post
Then I want to delete the spaces that I want to type in, then instead of the text going to the top of the area it always starts at the middle and I dont know how to fix it?
Yes, I do believe I gave you the answer already, and I did not tell you to use align, but valign.

Please read the thread in my signature called
-Please read this before asking for help.
, you're not providing anything that will make anyone be able to help you with 100% certainty
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 12:19 PM   #5
twilightballoons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for the reply, but as a beginnner I am still having the same problem!!

I have deleted the image, and the cursor is still in the middle.

This is a selection of part of the code of where the image I delete is.

<img src="images/test2_18.jpg" width="1" height="33" alt=""></td>
<td colspan="6" rowspan="5">
<img src="images/test2_19.jpg" width="602" height="766" alt=""></td>
<td>
<img src="images/spacer.gif" width="1" height="33" alt=""></td>

I have highlighted the code that deletes the image but I am not sure where I put valign? I have tried putting it in once I have deleted the image and if I look at the code for the whole page in dreamweaver I cannot see another aling where I put the valign?

Sorry for not being clued up but I am pretty new to designing with photoshop.

Thanks.
twilightballoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 06:17 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

HTML Code:
<td colspan="6" rowspan="5" valign="top">
<img src="images/test2_19.jpg" width="602" height="766" alt=""></td>
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2007, 02:22 AM   #7
twilightballoons
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Cheers domedia, thats done the trick!

Thanks for the help its much appreciated.

Cheers.
twilightballoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com