logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Video Tutorials
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2007, 06:58 AM   #1
joakimc
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default uploading login script

Iīm new to everything that has to do with databases and I feel Iīm missing something fundamental. I completed the login script tutorial and it runs perfectly when using it locally. Now I would like to upload it to my website to have a login page but itīs like it canīt connect to the database. I guess it has something to do with that itīs linked to 'localhost' and trying to find a database thatīs simply not online but I simply donīt know how to attack this problem. Help would be greatly appreciated.
joakimc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 07:17 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

check you connection details, the host name is usually localhost but username and password you have to give permissions to on your server
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 07:28 AM   #3
joakimc
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edbr View Post
check you connection details, the host name is usually localhost but username and password you have to give permissions to on your server
Where would I do that? Everything seem to upload just fine and i can access the page online but when trying to login it does not connect to the database. Donīt I have to upload the MySQL database somewhere because localhost is looking to find the DB on my computer but the login.php the file is online?

Thanks for the help
/J
joakimc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 09:35 AM   #4
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

ah! yes you have to create the databse on your server. does it have some database management software?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 09:38 AM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

if you have used EMS Mysql manager as in the tutorials then this will connect to your online db

you will need the host login info to register the host within the EMS IDE
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 09:42 PM   #6
owner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 64
Default

I have to use phpmyadmin. I can show you how to use that. Its pretty simple
owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 11:17 AM   #7
joakimc
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

It turned out my web provider did not provide SQLdb as default but it was an add on service, so that kind of explains why I had no info about their accounts. I will sign up for that now so let me give a shot first. Thanks
joakimc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com