logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Web Hosting and FTP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2007, 04:12 PM   #1
Slimfish
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default hooking up to the domain

Heya Dreamweaver folks,

I'm having some difficulty making my site live. I have all my files on the remote view, I'm not sure where I go on from here. I have a domain, just notsure how to hook up to it. Could I getsome help with this please.
Slimfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 02:55 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

you have hosting also?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 03:40 PM   #3
Slimfish
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default

Heya edbr,

Yeah I have hosting through Chrystaltech,and INWW. I have the site on remote view, I just don't remember from classes how to publish it online. It's domain is illustratorsworkshop.com.
Slimfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2007, 07:17 PM   #4
fwr1000
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Manistee, Michigan
Posts: 160
Default

Do you have your Home (opening page) named index.html? If not, that is what is preventing your site from opening. Rename your home page index.html and delete the "holding page" that now shows up.

HTH
Fred
fwr1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 01:53 AM   #5
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,176
Default

you need an ftp program like filezilla (freebie) make the connection to your site using the ftp infomation your haster should or will giv you. then it is a simple matter of transfering your files from your computer to your web site.
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2007, 05:33 AM   #6
Torin
Torin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 29
Default

And doing it through Dreamweaver.

ftp access through Dreamweaver is way quicker than loading manually. Trust me, I've done both.
__________________
Torin's Blog: Click Here
Torin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 09:39 PM   #7
Slimfish
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Default

thanks guys, the problem was I needed to go webcontroller.com and from there either delete the several default pages they set up or to put my index.html on the top of all the others. I just deleted all their default pages and left my index.html. Up and running now.
Slimfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com