logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-24-2007, 07:29 PM   #1
mwb2069
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default Dynamic Link to detail page

Just looking for some help, not coding, for a site I'm planning. I want keywords in my articles to be hyperlinks that link to the record in the database that they are associated with.

For example, if you view espn.com, and you click on any article of theirs, they will put a person's name or a team's name as a hyperlink in an article in mid-sentence that links to the "detail page" in the database.

For example... "Michael Vick's dog fighting drew criticism from the Atlanta Falcons on Monday."

Perhaps I am overcomplicating this. But it doesnt seem realistic to me that some sports write for ESPN knows how to create a hyperlink to a dynamic page.

How do I go about doing something like this in theory?

Are they just manually linking and they know the player and team to the parameter (ID) address.... www.espn.com/?id=1234

Do they have some kind of alphabetical list of names that they drag and drop on screen that automatically creates a hyperlink?

Is there a way to make this dynamic by dragging and dropping the dynamic {player.name} code?

How is this done?

Thanks for any help.
mwb2069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:56 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

its done by having a keyword table in a database

you would administer this yourself by adding the keyword and url

the scripting language builds the links for you by looking in the table and matching the keyword. When its found it builds the link

this is bordering on intermediate programming
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 09:57 PM   #3
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

They use/built a server application (CMS) that will generate the links and pages automatically. All websites of any size are built these ways, you can't justify to manually edit pages if you plan for it to have any size.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 10:07 PM   #4
mwb2069
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2
Default

thank you both for taking the time...very helpful
mwb2069 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2007, 10:08 PM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

no problem mw

welcome to the forum
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com