logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Flash
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2007, 03:21 PM   #1
m1a2x3x7
m1a2x3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Default Need some action script help

I'm creating a drop down menu using movie clips.

they roll over home and the links drop (movie clip one) (instance name nav)

home(roll over)
index
default
main page
splash page

on (rollOver) {
_root.nav.gotoAndPlay(2);
}
on (rollOut) {
_root.nav.gotoAndPlay(1);
}

Now i have a second movie clip that needs to run when they roll over index

home
index(roll over)
more info
more info
more info
default
main page
splash page

i try using the same code with the instance name nav1

on (rollOver) {
_root.nav1.gotoAndPlay(2);
}
on (rollOut) {
_root.nav1.gotoAndPlay(1);
}

nothing happens.

whats wrong?

Thanks for the help.
m1a2x3x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2007, 09:11 PM   #2
cocoonfx
cocoonfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tamworth,UK
Posts: 576
Default

Do you get an error messages when you check the code?

Also have you used the target button to link to "nav1".

Could you upload the .fla file so i can have a look.
cocoonfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 01:15 AM   #3
m1a2x3x7
m1a2x3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Default

how do i go about making sure the target is linked.
m1a2x3x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2007, 01:37 AM   #4
m1a2x3x7
m1a2x3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Default

here it is. let me know...thanks

Last edited by m1a2x3x7; 10-26-2007 at 03:59 PM..
m1a2x3x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 01:16 AM   #5
paispais
paispais's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barcelona, ES
Posts: 24
Default

Try this code:

nameOfInstance.onRollOver = function() {
_root.nav.gotoAndPlay(2);
};
nameOfInstance.onRollOut = function() {
_root.nav.gotoAndPlay(1);
};

or do a search for function in the flash help, this manual is very helpful for AS.

BTW, are you using AS 2.0?
paispais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 04:26 AM   #6
m1a2x3x7
m1a2x3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Default

yes im using as 2.0 but turns out that you cant have a on() handle on a movie clip inside of a movie clip that also has an on() handle
m1a2x3x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com