logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Video Tutorials
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2007, 09:57 PM   #1
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default Tutorials

Hi Im new to Dreamweaver and the forum and have been woking my way through the videos. I ran PHP Part 7 and followed the instruction. After saving and running it Windows Explorer opened up as it should but I got the Windows Message:

Quote:
The webpage cannot be found

HTTP 404
Most likely causes:
  • <LI id=causeErrorInAddress>There might be a typing error in the address.
  • If you clicked on a link, it may be out of date.
What you can try:

[IMG]res://ieframe.dll/bullet.png[/IMG] Retype the address.

[IMG]res://ieframe.dll/bullet.png[/IMG] Go back to the previous page.

[IMG]res://ieframe.dll/bullet.png[/IMG] Go to localhost and look for the information you want.

[IMG]res://ieframe.dll/down.png[/IMG] More information

This error (HTTP 404 Not Found) means that Internet Explorer was able to connect to the website, but the page you wanted was not found. It's possible that the webpage is temporarily unavailable. Alternatively, the website might have changed or removed the webpage.
For more information about HTTP errors, see Help.
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 10:04 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

404 error means that the page you typed into the browser is not in the setup directory

go to WAMP icon an sys tray and look for WWW Directory. This is where you need to save your files to
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 05:53 AM   #3
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Thank you for that, is there anyway I can change that directory in WAMP?
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 05:56 AM   #4
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

create an ALIAS

SYS TRAY > WAMP > ALIAS DIRECTORIES
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 09:38 PM   #5
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default

David, I took WAMP of and reinstalled it. And set it up correctly! However I still get the same message. I noticed that when I press F12 to run it, I got the following in the address bar:

http://localhost/Test/Images/dwc.php

On your tutorial you got:

http://localhost/Test/dwc.php

It would appear Im looking in the wrong place for the information. Not sure where Im going wrong here!
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 09:18 AM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

if you have set the remote up correctly in WAMP then it will work but you have configured dreamweaver to open Images directory so this is incorrect

go into dreamweaver site configuration and change where you have set this...

http://localhost/Test/Images/dwc.php

It Needs to be...

http://localhost/Test/dwc.php
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:27 PM   #7
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Hi again David, sorry to be a pain, but Ive just gone through this again and Im still getting the same. Ive checked back through Dreamweaver set up and have the following:

Local Info-
Site Name-DWC
Local Root Folder-C:\Users\David Drew\Documents\RemoteServer\Local Root\Test\

Default Images Folder-C:\Users\David Drew\Documents\RemoteServer\Local Root\Test\Images

Remote Info-C:\Users\David Drew\Documents\RemoteServer\Web Root\Test\

Testing Server-C:\Users\David Drew\Documents\RemoteServer\Web Root\Test\

I cant see anything different to your tutorials except that I hace put my Web and Local Root folders in a folder named Remote Server.

I checked my WAMP5 application and the wwwdirectory goes to C:\Users\David Drew\Documents\RemoteServer and it shows the Local and Web Root files.
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:51 PM   #8
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

what does your HTTP Address say in local info and testing server
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk

Last edited by davidj; 03-25-2009 at 12:50 AM..
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:54 PM   #9
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Local Info HTTP address = http://localhost/

Testing Server URL Prefix = http://localhost/host/
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:55 PM   #10
Dave Drew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 24
Default

Sorry my mistake

Should read Testing Server URL Prefix = http://localhost/Test/
Dave Drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com