logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2007, 03:32 PM   #1
dsnyder
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sexy Cleveland, OH
Posts: 128
Default Multiple browsers?

(I'm sure this has been covered but couldn't find anything through searching. Sorry if this is old stuff.)

Iím using Firefox and also have IE7 installed to look for problems. I have heard that I have some issues in IE6 but donít know how to check that on my machines. It doesnít seem like I can have both IE6 & 7 installed. Is that correct? How should I go about seeing those IE6 probs in order to deal with them? (Iím assuming that Iím having
css float issues in IE6)

Hereís a sample page if anyone with IE6 can comment or advise on what I should check http://cellocelli.com/SHEET%20MUSIC/...bitterroot.htm

ThanksÖ.

PS I have installed the Firebug browser plug-in but don't think that can help me with this problem. Am I wrong?
dsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Microsoft gives a free VPC image of IE6 to use use with their free Virtual PC.
http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/200...available.aspx

Your only other option is to have more than one computer for development.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 05:22 PM   #3
dsnyder
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sexy Cleveland, OH
Posts: 128
Default

I was reading on that virtual PC. Does that involve rebooting to use the 'other' pc? I actually have a couple of computer running but they both have IE7. Not helpful for this. My girlfriend just updated from IE 6 maybe i should 'system restore' to go back to her IE6.
dsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2007, 06:33 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

virtual pc is run on top of your current OS, so you start it like any other software on your machine
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 07:05 AM   #5
chriskq
chriskq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney - DownUnder
Posts: 798
Default

or take the easy option and install the standalone version of IE6

this is fine for css and development testing so long as ur not using cookies and dealing with sessions.

http://browsers.evolt.org/?ie/32bit/standalone

another interesting read:
http://vernonkesner.com/36/run-ie6-a...ame-system.php
__________________
can u do this with ur myspace? http://www.myspace.com/chrisjash
chriskq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2007, 01:36 PM   #6
dsnyder
dsnyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sexy Cleveland, OH
Posts: 128
Default

thanks guys,
I installed IE6 stand alone. At first I was confused because the 'about IE' tab lists IE 7 but...its the old look and my drop down doesn't function (it does in IE7) and I've got floating issues...so it must be IE6. AHHH.........time to make some coffee.
dsnyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com