logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Flash
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2006, 06:31 PM   #1
robfosters
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default Linking in Flash

I am so crap at this. I have built a flash movie, and I have put in a button reading click here at the end. However, I can't make it link it to my main page.

How exactly can i get this button to link to my homepage?

I know this is probably easy for most of you, but I am tearing my hair out.

Help appreciated.
robfosters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 07:38 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

select the button in flash and press F9. This should bring up your action script panel

in there write...
Code:
on(release) {

	getURL(incomingAd, "_blank");

}
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 07:50 PM   #3
robfosters
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks, but that does not seem to be working. The button is created okay, but I have typed that in and I am still getting an error message when previewing the website.

Where exactly in the code do I place the name of my website?
robfosters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 07:54 PM   #4
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

sorry

where you have

incomingAd replace with your page
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:00 PM   #5
robfosters
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Now this comes up when I check the syntax:-

expected
getURL(http://www.kingsarmspool.co.uk, "_blank");
Total ActionScript Errors: 2 Reported Errors: 2

This is getting me quite down now
robfosters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:04 PM   #6
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

where you have

getURL(http://www.kingsarmspool.co.uk, "_blank");

replace http://www.kingsarmspool.co.uk, with the page you want to direct to

example...

index.htm

if your still having problems then zip up the FLA file and upload it to this thread
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:21 PM   #7
robfosters
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 13
Default

I'm very sorry, but I can't upload it in zipped form. Is there any other way I can get the file to you. It's only 9 megs, not too much.

Many thanks

Rob
robfosters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2006, 08:34 PM   #8
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

email it to my address in my profile
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2006, 09:08 AM   #9
chriskq
chriskq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney - DownUnder
Posts: 798
Default

Quote:
It's only 9 megs, not too much.
sorry i gotta laugh at that a little.

ps - if u ever have large files and want someone on the forums to have access to it, use a website like www.putfile.com or similar.
chriskq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 04:07 PM   #10
oakwoodevents
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default thanks

hi
thanx for putfile - its great lol
oakwoodevents is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com