logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Fireworks
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2006, 04:50 AM   #1
triplemoons
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 33
Default Duotones in FireWorks

I must be crazy, but I can not find a Duotone function in FireWorks. I need to take an image I have and create an Orange & Blue duotone out of it. Does FireWorks have this capability? I searched the help and came up blank for "duotone."

Thank you in advance!
triplemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 08:19 AM   #2
Andromeda
Andromeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: I reside in the Gamma Quadrant but take regular trips home to feed my cat who lives in New Zealand.
Posts: 400
Default

Hi Triplemoons. I'm unsure what you mean by duotones but wonder if gradient does the same thing. In the colour palette select "fill options". Use the dropdown menu to change the solid to gradient. From there you will get different gradient patterns. Choose the edit option to change the colours. Hope this helps. I'm using FW8.
__________________
I am responsible for my attitude. My attitude determines my actions.
Andromeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 10:58 AM   #3
triplemoons
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 33
Default

No, Duotones & Gradients are two completely different things.

I think maybe Duotone is an inappropriate term for web as I know we use it in the printing industry.

Quote:
du·o·tone
– adjective
1. of two tones or colors.
–noun
2. a picture in two tones or colors.
3. Printing.
a. a method of printing an illustration either in a dark and a tinted shade of the same color or in two different colors from two plates of a monochrome original made from negatives at different screen angles.
b. an illustration printed by this method.
This is a duotone (useing Cyan & Black):


Thank you for taking a shot at my question though!
triplemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 02:51 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Duotone is the right description I think. I don't think Fireworks has it actually.

There's extensions that can add this functionality:
http://www.phireworx.com/content/tut...fx_mx_mono.asp
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 11:46 PM   #5
triplemoons
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 33
Default

Yeah, I'm not paying for an extension for something that should already be in the software. Thank you for the link though.

Duotones are not uncommon, I'm not understanding why it wouldn't already be in the software. Photoshop has it. My Photoshop is currently not working (it's on a HD that was not hooked up properly so I can not access it), so I was looking for the solution in FireWorks.
triplemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 03:01 AM   #6
Andromeda
Andromeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: I reside in the Gamma Quadrant but take regular trips home to feed my cat who lives in New Zealand.
Posts: 400
Default

Would you be able to get the same sort of effect using the colour fill option???? Maybe???
__________________
I am responsible for my attitude. My attitude determines my actions.
Andromeda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 05:41 AM   #7
triplemoons
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 33
Default

I thought that too.

I attempted it useing the color fill option & layers. I was unsuccessful.

I think it would work for black and another color, but not orange & blue.
triplemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 07:04 AM   #8
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you need a swiss army knife

http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum...ad.php?t=24633
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk

Last edited by davidj; 03-25-2009 at 01:51 AM..
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 12:16 PM   #9
triplemoons
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 33
Default

If you're referring to Photoshop, I have it but no access to it at the moment (see post #5).

I haven't used Illustrator since I was in college, does that have a Duotone function? From memory, I don't believe it does.
triplemoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2006, 12:32 PM   #10
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

im not sure it does

its a vector based design tool so i think not
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com