logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Photoshop
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2006, 02:39 AM   #1
chriskq
chriskq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney - DownUnder
Posts: 798
Default photshop font

http://www.geocities.com/SiliconVall...252/frame.html
>fonts > page5 (halfway down)
{sorry no direct link available, whats up with that?)

i like the electric font she offers to download.
But i am unsure how to get the gradiant effect on the actual text itself, as it look boring in solid color.

could anyone pls tell me how to apply this effect to text.
thanks all!
chriskq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:05 AM   #2
Creative Insanity
Banned
Creative Insanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: KiwiLand (stalk that far dj LOL)
Posts: 1,967
Default

All I get from this is: Opps !

Quote:
Sorry, this GeoCities site is currently unavailable.

The GeoCities web site you were trying to view has temporarily exceeded its data transfer limit. Please try again later.
Creative Insanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 07:46 AM   #3
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

chris

is it the eklektik font
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 07:30 PM   #4
chriskq
chriskq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney - DownUnder
Posts: 798
Default

yeah it is DJ. how'd you guess that.
nice one mate!

but yea how do u get that glowing color around the text?
thanks
chriskq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 08:03 AM   #5
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

select your text layer and add an outer glow layer style
(small f button at bottom of layer panel)

play around with options until you get what you want
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 05:58 PM   #6
Creative Insanity
Banned
Creative Insanity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: KiwiLand (stalk that far dj LOL)
Posts: 1,967
Default

Please chris, don't use photoshop for text. It sucks at that. They come out blury. You are better to use Illustrator and import the text from an ai file. PS really sucks at text and I wish they would deal with the common stuff in new versions instead of all these wizz bang features that are going to hardly get used.
Creative Insanity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2006, 07:08 PM   #7
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Creative Insanity
Please chris, don't use photoshop for text. It sucks at that. They come out blury. You are better to use Illustrator and import the text from an ai file. PS really sucks at text and I wish they would deal with the common stuff in new versions instead of all these wizz bang features that are going to hardly get used.
I never had a problem with PS and font. How do you normally approach making images with text from PS? I'm sure I can help out. The DW logo you placed on top of this website for example. I noticed it looked kinda weird, so I redid it. I must be doing something you're not doing
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2006, 11:30 PM   #8
chriskq
chriskq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sydney - DownUnder
Posts: 798
Default

yea share share pls.
with the text creation, im usually just lazy and cant be bothered opening up illustrator.. to be honest i hardly use image ready or illustrator (but im not a guru at grahhics or anything), well image ready is good for .gifs.
chriskq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 07:57 AM   #9
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

i have never had any probs with PS and fonts
CI.. you might have blurry mode switched on!
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2006, 01:08 PM   #10
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

..or anti-aliasing turned off?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com