logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2005, 11:43 AM   #1
Basscadet
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hello!

I have a question regarding using iframes. I have a page with an iframe on it, within that iframe is some named anchors. I am trying to link to the anchors within the iframe from a seperate html page. But I can't get it to work!! Its driving me mad! anyone got any ideas.

Big thanx in advance!
Basscadet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2005, 04:57 PM   #2
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Bass, how are you doing it now? Can we see some code or the website so we can figure out what is wrong?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 11:00 AM   #3
Basscadet
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Cheers for your reply.

Basically, Page 1 has the iFrame on it:

CODE: <IFRAME name="itemsFrame" src="frameContent.htm" width=460 height=220 marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 frameborder=0 scrolling=auto></IFRAME>

The frameContent.htm file has 4 named anchors on: Item1, Item2, Item3, Item4.

Page 2 is a basic HTML page with normal links on it (gif files)

What I am trying to achieve is if the user clicks 'item 3' on Page 2, it opens the new html page (page 1) with the iFrame (frameContent.htm) on it and automatically jumps down the list to Item 3.

Hope this makes sense!
Basscadet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 12:45 PM   #4
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Does this work for you?
Code:
<a href="frameContent.htm#Item1" target="itemsFrame">Link to Item1</a>
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 01:22 PM   #5
Basscadet
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

Cheers for the reply. That's kind of it, but I need the frameContent.htm file to live inside the iFrame.

If you don't mind I've Zipped the pages and attached them. There's only 3 pages:

main.htm (this has the links on it)

test.htm (this has the iFrame on it)

frameContent.htm (this lives inside the iFrame on the test.htm page)

What needs to happen is when you click a link on main.htm, test.htm opens and the frameContent.htm file inside the iFrame jumps to the relevant item number.

Would you mind taking a look?

Many thanks!
Basscadet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 01:30 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Not that's fine, I can tell you right now that won't work with HTML. Linking to a certain place in an iframe you can do, but your scenario involves more than that. Is there any reason you have to use fraMES?
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 01:39 PM   #7
Basscadet
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 9
Default

The reason I'm using an iFrame is because the depth of the site is going to be a set amount (600px) with a banner across the top of about 200px and a content area of about 400px.

The content on that particular page will be deeper than 400px so I need to be able to scroll down the page but I don't want the banner across the top of the site to disapear, so iFrames seemed the perfect solution... at first!!

)
Basscadet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com