logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Dreamweaver General
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2014, 11:00 PM   #1
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default CS6 Image Display issues

Evening

After exhausting the internet over the last averse hours, I have found this forum and hope I can get the answers! Firstly I am a hobbyist who makes websites for friends etc, I was given a template to work on which I know is cheating but I'm not very experienced. My issue is that in the IE preview page my images fail to show, I haven't uploaded to a test server either.

I set up the folder C:/website with CSS sub folder, and image sub folder. I tested the template and all images work just find in the IE preview, as soon as I change a line of code to replace the template image with my own JPEG from FW it changes in DW and previews, although as soon as I try the IE preview it shows as an x in the box.

I only modify one letter ie "image/pic01 to image/pic02 and it happens


I store my images in the image folder of C:/website/images

Could anyone help as I don't know what else to do, I saw someone say DW preferences should be use a temp folder, can't figure out how to do this in CS6

I don't know how much more info I can give really
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 12:16 AM   #2
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,201
Default

image/pic01

C:/website/images
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 07:13 AM   #3
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you I haven't had chance to check but that may just be my error on here, as the folder name wasn't changed, it was as simple as changing one digit in the code address, the folder names that worked previously now dont
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 01:55 PM   #4
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

Ok Losing my mind now, I just cannot no matter what I do get these images to show on test in IE, today they showed in IE for a preview then two minutes later the next time I tried nothing.

My File structure is as follows:

C:/website
css
images
js
psd
index
left sidebar
no sidebar
right sidebar

the css folder contains its own images, could that be a conflict?
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2014, 03:46 PM   #5
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

use DW's check links and/or upload it somewhere and post a link
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 12:09 AM   #6
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,201
Default

if you are using dw templates i would suspect the paths, is it a path from the template folder or from the actual file?
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:47 AM   #7
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

The template was given to me in a zip format, I unzipped it to a new folder and then placed the extracted files into C:/website I opened DW and first thing I did was preview in IE, everything worked, images etc. the first image I altered by creating my new JPEG in FW and replaced the template image in the image folder with my image using the identical file name, DW live shows all my new images fine, but as soon as I use preview in IE it won't show them, but then on other occasions it does for a few moments then buggers off. I prefer the IE preview as It gives a far clearer look and helps me know where I'm working. So in simple terms the fully working template points to say images/pic01 I replace that file within the images folder leaving the code intact, I delete the original place my new image as images/pic01
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 07:49 AM   #8
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

All I did was take a fully working template and without ch aging any code I replaced images directly in the images folder ie images/pic01 I deleted that and placed a new file in called pic01
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:51 AM   #9
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

pic01 what? Do you use any image extensions like pic01.jpg or pic01.png?
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2014, 08:56 AM   #10
Jonesy_gj
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 8
Default

The file was a JPEG that I deleted and replaced with a JPEG, it's really confusing me I spent four hours solid staring at it yesterday and got no where
Jonesy_gj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com