logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Spry
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2009, 11:30 PM   #1
JohnnieG
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Default IE Menu Problems

I am rebuilding a web site in DW with Spry menus. In FF, Opera, Chrome, Flock and Safari the menu is fine. In IE, the second level is not in the proper position.

www.murraygreybeefcattle.com/New%20Index.htm

Would appreciate your thoughts and suggestions.
JohnnieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 11:56 AM   #2
JohnnieG
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Default IE Menu Problems

I have deleted the SPRY menu from my new website and am rebuilding it from scratch checking it in IE as I go along
JohnnieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 08:09 AM   #3
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnieG View Post
am rebuilding it from scratch checking it in IE as I go along
Yes, that's the way to go... than you can see immediately where you go wrong so you don't get an error on-top of error on-top of an error etc.
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 10:57 AM   #4
JohnnieG
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 21
Default

Thank you, gentleone. It is working properly now and I am moving along with it. Please take a look at http://www.murraygreybeefcattle.com/New%20Index.htm

Once I get the navigation completed, I will rename the template and that should replace the existing template and change all of the pages on my site. Or am I wrong in that logic?
JohnnieG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:10 AM   #5
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
I will rename the template and that should replace the existing template and change all of the pages on my site. Or am I wrong in that logic?
Personally I never used to work with .dwt files I use PHP to achieve the same result, so I can't verify that. DWCourse can do for sure... or anyone else?
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:23 PM   #6
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

If I understand you correctly you can do what you're thinking but it's a bit tricky.

If the new template has exactly the same editable regions with the same names then you could:
  1. Rename the new template to match the name of the old one.
  2. Open the template
  3. Make a slight change and save it
  4. When prompted, let DW update the files based upon the template.
I'd back up the site first just in case.

You can also just apply the new template to the pages one-by-one. If the editable regions are named the same, the content will flow to the correct places. That has the advantage of letting you see any problems immediately and undo them. If you flow the changes to unopened pages, you have not option to undo them.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com