logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Graphic Design > Fireworks
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2009, 02:45 PM   #21
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,553
Default

What you want to do is not complex but unfortunately, without you diving into the code I can't help you from here.

The reason you have the extra code issues is that Dreamweaver doesn't reliably strip out the old style when you add a new one.

ie; you select 'HOME' and give it 'style 3' - then you change your mind and add 'style 4' instead - unless you select the text REAL careful Dreamweaver can leave some of the old code so you end up with 2 styles on one element... does that make sense ?

Maybe create one column and then copy and paste it over once it looks 'right'...

PS: if you want to reduce the space between the lines - instead of hitting 'return' , hit shift+return... this will give you a line-break rather than a new paragraph. Hope that heps...

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 02:51 PM   #22
DWcourse
DWcourse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,276
Default

Those are all space images Fireworks uses to make the tables in your export page hang together properly.
__________________
If my answer helped, check out DWcourse.com for Dreamweaver tips and tutorials.
DWcourse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 03:08 PM   #23
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,553
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DWcourse View Post
Those are all space images Fireworks uses to make the tables in your export page hang together properly.
I assume this refers to the first topic, not the latest one ?

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 04:57 PM   #24
rennart
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 43
Default much sense

hi Rob

that makes complete sense, thanks.
I am looking at the code and can see the two 'styles' instead of just the one
I chose.
now going to work my way through CSS tutorials bit by bit....

rennart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2009, 06:28 PM   #25
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,553
Default

Just save a copy of how it is now and start hacking into the code ! Just start ripping it out and simplifying it.

There are some great three column css layouts for free out there on that there internet - grab one, start changing some numbers and see what happens !

Good luck - we're happoy to help if you're happy to ask...

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 03:39 PM   #26
rennart
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 43
Default idiots message for today!

hello Rob

I want to take your advice and start cleaning up my code on
the page in question, BUT
how do I duplicate just this one page to save a copy.
I can only seem to duplicate the whole site through 'manage sites'
I am using CS3. sorry to be so dumb...

thanks in advance!
rennart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 03:48 PM   #27
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,553
Default

Not dumb at all.

Just File > Save As... Then save it as, say, Test.html or something... this will keep the page local, save the links you already have but also it's disposable

Let us know how you get on !

Rob
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 02:54 PM   #28
rennart
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 43
Default trying CSS to layout page

hello Rob

here I am again!

still confused by how to align my various pieces of text and images using
divs in CSS

so far...

http://www.rennart.co.uk/test2.html

If you have a moment could you kindly take a look and tell me in
'idiots language' how to use the div tags to layout the page; or of course point me in the right direction.
I want 3 columns with images at the top, then further down two H2 titles,
then two lists and so on....( The left column just has the logo and address details.
I do not want a header and a footer bar and all templates seem to follow this route.

here's hoping!
rennart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2009, 04:58 PM   #29
rennart
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 43
Default CSS - the nightmare continues...

hello again Rob

I have sent you a private message too - as not sure which thread you will pick up on?

I have created a test page

http://www.rennart.co.uk/test.html

basically copied the existing table layout and have cleaned up the text style code a bit!
However, I still don't know how to align the text horizontally across the three
columns. Do I have to use AP divs?
please can you explain this simply!
thanks...
rennart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2009, 09:10 AM   #30
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,553
Default

I'll take a look... I did get your message but I've been absorbed in Flash video, yikes!

The first thing I noticed about the site is that your code isn't the same both sides. For example - your <h2> tag on the middle column has at least 2 line brekas <br> in it...
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com