logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Spry
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2013, 10:27 PM   #1
RainForest
RainForest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Default vertical won't overlap div

Hello,

While I've been a low-level DW user for a few years now, I've never been quite able to make the spry menus work for me. I'm giving it another shot, and am pretty much getting a vertical spry menu in the left sidebar to look the way I want it to, with one exception - the submenus won't display over the edge of the sidebar into the main area of the page. I've Googled, but don't see a resolution for this. Can someone tell me what I might be missing?
RainForest is offline  
Old 09-23-2013, 10:55 PM   #2
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

probably some overlapping z-index or something, but without some code/link we can only guess.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline  
Old 09-23-2013, 11:09 PM   #3
RainForest
RainForest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Default

Hi gentleone,

Here's the code, though I've messed it up while I've been working with it today. I changed the submenu position to 50% so I can at least see part of it.

I'm about ready to delete the menu and start fresh. It's a simple menu, with only one submenu level, which doesn't even need to link to anything. I just really want to figure out how to make it work the way I want!

It's just experimental at this point, but if I can't resolve the display issue, it will never go live.

One thing that would be really helpful would be to find a listing of exactly what each of the styles is responsible for controlling (my reference book, "The Missing Manual" only specifically lists six, and I haven't found such a listing online).

~~~~~~~~~~

ul.MenuBarVertical
{
margin: 0;
padding: 0px;
list-style-type: none;
font-size: 10px;
cursor: default;
width: 98%;
background-color: #cbd3cc;
border-top: 2px ridge #608d9a;
border-right: 2px ridge #142f0f;
border-bottom: 2px ridge #142f0f;
border-left: 2px ridge #608d9a;
color: #142f0f;
}

ul.MenuBarActive
{
z-index: 1000;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical li
{
margin: 0;
padding: 0px;
list-style-type: none;
font-size: 10px;
position: relative;
text-align: left;
cursor: pointer;
width: 100%;
visibility: visible;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical ul
{
margin: 5% 0 0 50%;
padding: 0;
list-style-type: none;
font-size: 8px;
position: absolute;
z-index: 1020;
cursor: default;
width: 100%;
left: -1000em;
top: 0;
visibility: visible;
background-color: #cbd3cc;
color: #142f0f;
border: 1px solid #142f0f;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical ul li
{
width: 100%;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical a
{
display: block;
cursor: pointer;
background-color: #cbd3cc;
padding: 0.5em 0.75em;
color: #142f0f;
text-decoration: none;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical ul.MenuBarSubmenuVisible
{
left: 0;
}

{
background-color: #97a8af;
color: #000;
}
ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarSubMenuHover ul.MenuBarVertical a:hover{

}

ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemHover, ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarItemSubmenuHover, ul.MenuBarVertical a.MenuBarSubmenuVisible
{
background-color: #97a8af;
color: #000;
}

ul.MenuBarVertical iframe
{
position: absolute;
z-index: 1010;
filter:alpha(opacity:0.1);
}

@media screen, projection
{
ul.MenuBarVertical li.MenuBarItemIE
{
display: inline;
f\loat: left;
background: #cbd3cc;
}
}
RainForest is offline  
Old 09-24-2013, 11:34 PM   #4
RainForest
RainForest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Default

I've redone the code & posted a test page here: http://ow.ly/pbdK9. (It's the Meeting Schedule in the left sidebar.)

I never did get the pop-ups to cross over into the main div, so I made them small enough to fit in the sidebar, but now they're floating /way/ above their corresponding menu items. Why is this?
RainForest is offline  
Old 10-23-2013, 05:17 PM   #5
RainForest
RainForest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Default

With about a month passing and hearing no responses to this question, I'm pulling the test page down for ease of site management, so link checking doesn't continue to return errors.

If anybody wants to look at the most recent code at a future date, I'll hold onto it for awhile...
RainForest is offline  
Old 10-27-2013, 08:21 PM   #6
krzy
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 51
Default

404 error..
maybe there is someone, who actually can help?

Last edited by krzy; 10-27-2013 at 08:33 PM..
krzy is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com