logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > HTML and CSS
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2012, 11:09 AM   #1
bbllaakkee1
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Angry centering pages

hello ! newbie here ..

i have created this site : ariskaware.com

as you can see the content is always pushed over to the right of the browser. how do i get in the middle ??

i made the website just using layers in dreamweaver 8 just to let you all know..

any help much appreciated.
bbllaakkee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,824
Default

Welcome to the forum bbllaakkee1!

Using layers (absolute positened divs) for layout is not a good idea as you've noticed. It's doable, but they're inflexible and lead to headaches if you don't know what you're doing.

If you want to fix it... here's a tutorial that explains how to center a webpage:
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/css-center-content.php
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2012, 04:51 AM   #3
moviemastersdk
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Default

Enclose the content in a div tag.
<div id=mytag align=center>put everything within the body here</div>

Then use CSS to define the width
And add "Auto" to both left and right margin.

#mytag {
height: auto;
width: 900px; // or what you prefer
margin-right: auto;
margin-left: auto;
}


Upon further reading, you might wanna check out the link from gentleone, helped me

But if you want a fixed width for all screen resolutions, you can use the above

Last edited by moviemastersdk; 04-12-2012 at 05:02 AM..
moviemastersdk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
bbllaakkee1
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2
Default

ok thanks for the help.. so if layers arnt the way to set things out, then what should i be using to create a suitable page layout? is there any sites on the internet that i can use to copy and paste a complete code into the code section ? or is anybody able to paste a basic code onto here that i could possibly use ? i did have a look at the link that gentleone posted but being new to this, i could work out where to paste the HTML but the CSS part i havnt a clue about ! if any body is able to paste a simple code onto here that i can just copy and paste and use to build upon it would be amazing !

sorry im sounding stupid to all of you guys, its just iv been trying for soo long now to try and get something created that actualy looks good and works ! and all iv managed to do is sit here and scratch my head !

many thanks in advance
bbllaakkee1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 12:57 PM   #5
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,106
Default

There are lots of free & paid website template sites out there. If not, are you totally against paying a professional to do it? I mean, no you know that it actually isn't that easy...
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 02:27 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,710
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbllaakkee1 View Post
ok thanks for the help.. so if layers arnt the way to set things out, then what should i be using to create a suitable page layout?
Web standards.
Get a good book like this one
http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/books...ds_3rd_Edition

If coding is not for you, then find someone that can do it.

You're never going to get anything that works or looks good by copy and paste :-/ It just doesn't work like that.

Dreamweaver is an IDE/editor. It will not make you a web designer any more than buying a video camera makes you a videographer.

.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,824
Default

I second that and if you don't know what you're doing, you should stay far away from doing client work.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 01:36 PM   #8
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,710
Default

But, if you're interested in learning more, you're definitely at the right place
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com