logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Dreamweaver forums > Spry
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2008, 08:14 PM   #1
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Help with Spry Menu as Server Side Includes

Let me first say that I'm a noobie.

I'm having issues making a simple spry vertical menu as a server side include.

I created the spry menu in a blank html file. I then used the server-side includes option to include it in my existing page.

It will add it, but the spry menu is all text links instead of the original spry menu. See attachment.

-- Here's the menu code --
HTML Code:
 
<html>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<script src="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBar.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarHorizontal.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
</head>
<body>
<table width="740" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td><ul id="MenuBar1" class="MenuBarHorizontal">
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 1</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 1.3</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 2</a></li>
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 3</a>
<ul>
<li><a class="MenuBarItemSubmenu" href="#">Item 3.1</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.1.1</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.1.2</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.2</a></li>
<li><a href="#">Item 3.3</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="#">Item 4</a></li>
</ul>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var MenuBar1 = new Spry.Widget.MenuBar("MenuBar1", {imgDown:"SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarDownHover.gif", imgRight:"SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarRightHover.gif"});
//-->
</script>
</body>
</html>
 
Any help is greatly appreciated

Thanks,

Dan
Attached Images
File Type: jpg spryissue.JPG (42.5 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by Danp; 02-25-2008 at 08:22 PM..
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2008, 11:57 PM   #2
m1a2x3x7
m1a2x3x7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Default

make sure js file and css file are in the correct file location.
__________________
Chris Schultz
Web and Multimedia Designer
Schultz|Studio
m1a2x3x7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 01:33 PM   #3
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1a2x3x7 View Post
make sure js file and css file are in the correct file location.
Dreamweaver automatically puts them into a folder called SpryAssets which is located in the root folder of the web site along with all the html files.
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 03:18 PM   #4
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Damn, I've tried everything. I can't get the spry vert menu to be a server-side include. It's probably a simple fix, but I can't seem to figure it out.

Any help please??
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 04:30 PM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

The HTML document is linking to SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarHorizontal.css.
This file is either not in that location, or there's something lacking inside the file. You can tell from your screenshot it has an issue reading the CSS.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 05:04 PM   #6
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
The HTML document is linking to SpryAssets/SpryMenuBarHorizontal.css.
This file is either not in that location, or there's something lacking inside the file. You can tell from your screenshot it has an issue reading the CSS.
Yup, but I can't figure out what. I didn't move or rename anything. Simpley clicked Server Side Inlcude and pointed to the menu.html file.
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 06:46 PM   #7
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I just don't understand. The spry menu works perfectly well on it's own. As soon as I add it to the index page as a SSI it goes nuts. I mean it wipes out all tables that I've created, and the menu comes up as links only.

I even attached the menu style sheet to the index.html page. That helped as the styling of the menu worked, but it still knocked out all the tables and code for the index page.

I'm stumped.
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 12:28 AM   #8
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,164
Default

it sound like you have a conflict in your styling
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:06 PM   #9
Danp
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I've made some progress. the only way I can get it to work is if the styling sheet is connected to the index page and not the menu SSI. But that messes up my page stylings. arrrrhhhh
Danp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 10:52 AM   #10
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danp View Post
I've made some progress. the only way I can get it to work is if the styling sheet is connected to the index page and not the menu SSI. But that messes up my page stylings. arrrrhhhh
Can you create a duplicate .css file for the page and rename it?
A bit cack handed as it gives you no answers but might work.
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com