logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Hand Coders Forum > ASP
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
xarzu
xarzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 6
Default IE 10 Issues?

Has anyone had any problems where a website behaves differently with Microsoft Internet Explorer 10? I got a call from someone who said that he could not use a drop-down window on a web page I manage after he upgraded to Internet Explorer 10 and he did not have any problems before.

If my memory serves me, it is not possible to have two versions of IE on a computer (which is what I would like to do to test this). Is that right?
Also, is it possible to uninstall and reinstall Internet Explorer?

It is an ASP.NET application. In order for me to debug what is going on, I will have to recreate the error. Currently, I do not have IE 10 on my computer. I have IE 9 and I cannot recreate the error with IE 9.
I am currently in the middle of another project. So this is why I need to know if I can have two versions of the browser on my computer at the same time.

I think this might be Microsoft's way of making people move from ASP.NET and SILVERLIGHT to HTML5.

What do you think?
xarzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 06:59 PM   #2
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

You can not have two or more versions of IE installed on your computer. You will need a virtual machine if you want to run multiple and different OS's on your machine. There is also IE tester, but I heard it's not really 100% as the real thing, so therefor IMO unreliable.

VM ware come with a free trial, so you can just install it to solve this issue. You can also register for a free trial account at an online VM ware service such as Browserstack. With this you don't have to install stuff, so you can start immediately with testing.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 02:45 AM   #3
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,170
Default

you can always verify if working on http://browsershots.org/ also
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 04:02 PM   #4
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edbr View Post
you can always verify if working on http://browsershots.org/ also
Browsershots works till some extend. If you want to check the alignment of elements is consistent across different browsers, but for the rest it's not so useful. It's kind of hard to debug from a static image
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 02:01 AM   #5
edbr
edbr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Bali
Posts: 11,170
Default

i wasnt meaning a a development tool, verify as in layout. an actually if there is an error and Ie tester replicates it you will be good to go
__________________
If you're happy and you know it shake your meds!
different style links examples

Flight / Hotel search
Free script download
Bali Villas
edbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:14 PM   #6
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Am I the only lazy one that uses IE development tools for this? F12
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 08:55 PM   #7
gentleone
gentleone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 2,837
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domedia View Post
Am I the only lazy one that uses IE development tools for this? F12
As far as I know you will not have 100% accurate simulation as the real thing. I understood the difference lies a lot in security things, so this won't effect much difference when testing websites, but the IE10 javascript engine tries to replicate older bugs and hide unavailable functionality when earlier versions are simulated which of course may not be a 100% accurate simulation either. So... IMO better to test in real IE versions.
__________________
www.gentlemedia.nl
gentleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 06:26 PM   #8
d a v e
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: finland
Posts: 1,684
Default

id you've got a link we can check it out in ie10 for you - did they have compatability mode checked or soemthing?
d a v e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:19 PM   #9
krzy
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Poland
Posts: 51
Default

IE simulator is even worse as IE itself
krzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2017, 05:22 AM   #10
Bill Goldberg
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 39
Default

I have tried IE 10 for some time but I didn't felt comfortable so I just quit using it.
Bill Goldberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com