logo-dw

Go Back   Dreamweaver Club Forums > Community Talk > Dreamweaver Club Cafe
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2008, 04:43 PM   #1
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default Which Web Hosting

Hi, Im thinking of getting some Hosting to put up my site.
Im not an expert, Just a beginner...starting to learn CSS and working in Dreamweaver. My objective is for my site to have Panoramas here is a link to some panos I have up:
http://geoimages.berkeley.edu/worldw...eODonovan.html

I like making panoramas and photgraphy in general...si Ide like to include these in my site, as well as a image galary and some examples of work I do in Photoshop, cinema4D,etc....

Now Im looking for the right web hosting for me but dont really know what to go for. IM IN SPAIN....so Ive got this link that Ive found...its in Spanish but by looking you might get what they offer...theres 4 diferent options, WHICH one do you suggest is suitable for me?
http://alta.1and1.es/xml/order/Hosti...op&__lf=Static

I know a guy who runs a business here in Spain and his hosting is in the states....should I look outside of spain, does it matter..any suggestions?

Cheers!
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 06:59 PM   #2
davidj
davidj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Toon (newcastle upon Tyne)
Posts: 8,256
Default

you need some high bandwidth allowances as images are your main focus so every download will add to the bandwidth

also you may need some server side scripting support but its early days so if you choose a high bandwidth option you can add to it later
__________________
Would you like to learn PHP from me? Check out -> www.codezenith.co.uk
davidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2008, 08:06 PM   #3
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

bandwidth is not an issue these days unless you deal with a fairly successful website (+10k visitors a day). Site5.com has an 'uberplan' at $5/m.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 11:04 AM   #4
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

Ummmm...Ive had a look at loads and cant decide! Should I go for one in Spain or it doesnt matter.... Could someone specify a specific one, Ive had a look at Site5.com: It offers masive Disk Space and Bandwidth compared to the spanish link I posted? How come?? Its about 7 euros/Month.....

Im afraid I need more help................Dont understand how the bill you..every month/year/termly??
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 11:55 AM   #5
domedia
Administrator
domedia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 9,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by africano View Post
Ummmm...Ive had a look at loads and cant decide! Should I go for one in Spain or it doesnt matter.... Could someone specify a specific one, Ive had a look at Site5.com:
That was my specific recommendation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by africano View Post
It offers masive Disk Space and Bandwidth compared to the spanish link I posted? How come?? Its about 7 euros/Month.....
It's a good deal for small/medium websites. They deal with volume.
Quote:
Originally Posted by africano View Post
Im afraid I need more help................Dont understand how the bill you..every month/year/termly??
Just ask them, most likely they have this info on their website Most of them deal with CCs, most charge monthly.
domedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 12:05 PM   #6
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

Ok, sorry....Does site5.com give you a free Domain name or do you have to pay for it.....?? Im probably gonna go for this..but Im thinking of going for the 12 month or 24 month plan....
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 12:12 PM   #7
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Register new domains with Site5 for only 8.88 per year!
Register, transfer and manage your domains (www.yourdomain.com) via your Backstage account

Hi Africano

Quote above from Site5 website. Looks like you can regsiter your domain once you've purchased a hosting account. It's not free though

http://www.site5.com/hosting/feature...domain_manager

Link above if you want to check it out yourself.

What domain name are you thinking of using??
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 12:12 PM   #8
africano
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 257
Default

Ok, sorry....Does site5.com give you a free Domain name or do you have to pay for it.....?? Im probably gonna go for this..but Im thinking of going for the 12 month or 24 month plan....

EDIT: WOW!!..... **You will be charged this amount immediately: $177.60
(24 months @ $7.4 with FREE setup)** Dont understand, dont I pay monthly?? IM SORRY, i might be a bit thick but i cant see why they charge me that amount....its quite expensive 100 odd euros.

Corrosive you said something around 35-50 Pounds....?
Domain name....www.virtualelche.com...
africano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 01:57 PM   #9
Rob_Che
Rob_Che's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,552
Default

How about Claralight hosting package ?
Clara.net
29.99 a year (includes domain name)
Web mail.
Online site maintenance.
And available on the phone, really helpful.

I used to use Clara a lot... I use Media Temple now. (Multi site and reseller tho, you don't need anything like that)
Rob_Che is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:41 PM   #10
Corrosive
Corrosive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bristol, England
Posts: 7,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob_Che View Post
How about Claralight hosting package ?
Clara.net
29.99 a year (includes domain name)
Web mail.
Online site maintenance.
And available on the phone, really helpful.

I used to use Clara a lot... I use Media Temple now. (Multi site and reseller tho, you don't need anything like that)
Only 10mb of webspace on clara light package Rob. Africano wants to show his photos (I imagine in good quality) so this may be too small.

You can always upgrade pretty easily though, just watch the costs of the larger packages. Hosting can be a bit of a minefield I'm afraid.
Corrosive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com