Dreamweaver Club Forums

Dreamweaver Club Forums (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum//index.php)
-   PHP (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum//forumdisplay.php?f=188)
-   -   mysql_num_rows() error (http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum//showthread.php?t=42614)

sydesign 02-27-2012 09:56 PM

mysql_num_rows() error
 
I am trying to create a search engine of sorts on a site for my client. the php code is

PHP Code:

    <?php
        $k 
$_GET ['k'];
        
$terms explode(" "$k);        
        
$query "SELECT * FROM search WHERE ";

        foreach (
$terms as $each){
            
$i++;

            if (
$i == 1)
                
$query .= "keywords LIKE '%$each%' ";
            else
                
$query .= "OR keywords LIKE '%$each%' ";
            
        }
        
        
// connect
        
mysql_connect("localhost""root""root");
        
mysql_select_db("searchengine");
        
        
$query mysql_query($query);
        
$numrows mysql_num_rows($query);
        if (
$numrows 0){
            
            while (
$rows mysql_fetch_assoc($query)){
                
$title $rows['title'];
                
$description $rows['description'];
                
$keywords $rows['keywords'];
                
$link $rows['link'];
            
                echo 
"<h2><a href='$link'>$title</a></h2>
                
$description<br /><br />";
            }
            
        }
        else
            echo 
"No results found for \"<b>$k</b>\"";
        
        
//disconnect
        
mysql_close();
    
?>

when i submit this form:
PHP Code:

<form method="get" action="results.php">
    <input type="text" name="k" size="30" value="<?php echo $_GET['k']; ?>"/>
    <input type="submit" value="Search" />
</form>

i get this error:

Warning: mysql_num_rows() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in ***.php on line 228

I've been searching around for why this happens and i haven't found a reason that helps me. This is my first time teaching myself and trying to learn phpmyadmin and mysql databases so i don't know if maybe I'm doing something wrong...

thank you so much for any help you can offer!

gentleone 02-27-2012 10:10 PM

This has nothing to do with Spry. Moved to the PHP board.

sydesign 02-27-2012 10:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gentleone (Post 203118)
This has nothing to do with Spry. Moved to the PHP board.

ah yes sorry I think I was distracted ... thank you.

edbr 02-28-2012 12:29 AM

is this the line if ($numrows > 0?

just before it, add line echo $numrows: see what is returning

sydesign 02-28-2012 04:42 AM

like this?

PHP Code:

$query mysql_query($query);
        
$numrows mysql_num_rows($query);
        
        echo 
$numrows;
        
        if (
$numrows 0){ 

i still get the same result and error..

which is kind of interesting now because it still says on line 228 but theres nothing on line 228 anymore

edbr 02-28-2012 06:31 AM

yes but its not a cure, its to echo out what is being returned as $numrows

sydesign 02-28-2012 05:35 PM

yea i know. i just meant that i didn't see anything different come up. i didn't see it echo any results. does this mean theres a problem with the code? or the database?

Im not sure..

edbr 02-29-2012 01:30 AM

i would guess code as its not returning row count

edbr 02-29-2012 01:35 AM

for one put ypour connect and select database before the select query


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 DreamweaverClub.com