PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

adamburner
08-04-2016, 02:59 PM
Hello everyone! I'm a web designer trying to get the feel of where this industry is heading and looking forward to any advice or tips that can be given. I have a website I created for my side business that I just can't seem to get the layout the best way possible. I have been working on new ways to improve my site everyday.
burnersclassiccars(dot) com

Please critique me and give me any ideas or help me better myself. Thank you all so much!

d a v e
08-07-2016, 09:48 AM
Hi Adam, the site could do with a bit more of a (conventional) structure ;) the large slider looks a bit like an advert because it sits above the logo/site name, and the main site navigation looks like slider navigation. sliders are themselves quite a contentious issue as to their value - I would prefer maybe a hero shot of good looking car to get people interested and say wow, i'd love one of those...

for me there are too many boxes and then another set of boxes showing latest work (maybe tooo much with a slideshow already??) which brings me on to photography

Some of the photos look a bit stretched, are badly cropped (i'm looking at you wine red car in the slider), blurred, poorly lit and could do with a little photoshop love for brightness and contrast

If i was using it on the frontpage i would consider limiting the latest work to a before and after shot OR then do a little more text as a case study showing the car model and year (you only mention it's simply a nova in the second photo) with good quality before and after shots / or steps detailing the process. before and after shots work better as well if they are taken—where possible—from the same angle.

typography: the text shadows make the text look blurry, too much centered or fully justified text even just 'anchoring' all the text to the left in the floating boxes would help lead people into them a bit more.