PDA

View Full Version : Something Wrong with Menus


Tomcat104
02-21-2015, 02:49 PM
Me again guys. I have figured out most of my problems but I need some help to get these menus to work. The links and all are fine it's that they won't resize for tablets & mobile phones.

I don't seem to have a problem with just one image but with the multiple images of buttons resizing. I've searched for an answer for days and now turn to you guys for help.

Any pointers or ideas for me to try?

Javascript? Change the buttons to something "more simple"?

http://www.wolf359.biz

HELP!!!

edbr
02-23-2015, 03:11 AM
use <li>tags for your menus maybe

d a v e
02-23-2015, 06:15 AM
unfortunate surname, for an accountant :)

Tomcat104
02-23-2015, 04:16 PM
eber,

That's a good tip.

I think I have tried that but I can't remember and didn't save a version of it, sooooooo.......


dave,

You would think that was an unfortunate break but it has been used as a great ice-breaker. Not sure how it has worked in print ads...

I was a salesman/business owner for 29 years before my stroke and it really wasn't the problem that I thought it would be.

But, yes a different surname for her profession would have been "enjoyed".

edbr
02-24-2015, 04:17 AM
like Sue Anne Grabbit

edbr
02-24-2015, 04:19 AM
if you use <li> home</li> <li> contact</li> etc you can style the li's and have different based on screen size with media queries

Tomcat104
02-24-2015, 03:47 PM
like Sue Anne Grabbit

Uh......no, I don't think I can get her to that!

She went to school with a girl named Pat M. Widebottom....wonder if the M was for "My"...

I'll try the li sometime today. I have physical therapy now so PAIN before pleasure.

Don't know if I've told you before but I absolutely love your tagline! I take only 27 "meds" now and I do shake them often.:p:p:p

Tomcat104
02-24-2015, 08:45 PM
OK guys, I'm giving up (for now) and aiming to actually get something done.

Nothing has seemed to work so let me ask you guys a different question. If you had too many "tabs" to fit on a horizontal ul what would you do?

I can't shorten the nav list anymore. Maybe I could bundle a couple to make a Pull Down list though I don't see how. Maybe I could place 1 or 2 navs in the body text on strategic pages (like newsletters).

I need your opinions very much.

edbr
02-25-2015, 02:57 AM
something like maybe. season to taste
<!DOCTYPE HTML>
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<style>
ul li {list-style:none; border:#999 1px solid;}
@media screen and (min-width:400px) {
ul li{ display:inline-block; width:50px; background:#0FF; }
@media screen and (max-width: 400px) {
ul li{width:300px; background:#fff; }
}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<ul>
<li>home</li>
<li>home2</li>
<li>home3</li>
</ul>
</body>
</html>

Tomcat104
02-25-2015, 11:02 PM
Thought I'd drop a short note to say I've fixed part of my problem.

I went back to a blank document and threw together a menu, all with "li" tags. Styled it and the damn thing worked!

Went back to my original file and "NOTHING"!!!

Studied the code for a while and notice Vista-Buttons automatically named my DIVS just like the buttons were named like: ABOUT US with a blank space in the name of the DIV TAG!

Renamed the and everything is responsive just as I was expecting!

The DESKTOP and the TABLET seem fine........now to tackle the iPhone.

Thanks for all the help. I really appreciate it.

edbr: without your "li" pointer I'd still be lost. Gotta go shake & take my night meds!

:wink::wink::wink: