PDA

View Full Version : PHP contact form sending blank emails

cellopoet
11-08-2014, 01:57 AM
I am completely new to php, so I am having trouble finding a solution to my problem. I created a contact form and used a downloaded php file that matches my form. It seems to work except for the fact that when the form is filled out and submitted, the email it sends leaves all the fields blank:
Name:
Email:
Comments:

I have both the html and php files uploaded to my site root. I have not done anything on the server side (I use hostgator) and honestly would not even know where to begin if the problem is on that end.

Any help for this complete noob would be greatly appreciated!!!!:)

Here is the php I am using:

<?php

/* Email Variables */
$emailSubject = 'contactformprocess!';
$webMaster = 'my email is here';

/* Data Variables */
$name = $_POST['name'];
$email = $_POST['email'];
$comments = $_POST['comments'];

$body = <<<EOD
<br><hr><br>
Name: $name <br>
Email: $email <br>
Comments: $comments <br>
EOD;
$headers = "From: $email\r\n";
$headers .= "Content-type: text/html\r\n";
$success = mail($webMaster, $emailSubject, $body,
$headers);

/* Results rendered as HTML */
$theResults = <<<EOD
<html>
<head>
<title>sent message</title>
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="3;URL=http://www.lindarife.com/index.html">
<style type="text/css">
<!--
body {
background-color: #555555;
font-family: gruppo;
font-size: 20px;
font-style: normal;
line-height: normal;
font-weight: normal;
color: #FFFFFF;
text-decoration: none;
padding-top: 200px;
margin-left: 150px;
width: 800px;
}
-->
</style>
</head>
<div align="center">Thank you for contacting me. You will hear back from me soon!</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>
EOD;
echo "$theResults";
?>

And here is the html for my form:

<form action="contactformprocess.php" method="post" enctype="text/plain" id="contact">
<label for="name">Name:</label>
<br>
<input name="name" type="text" required id="name" form="contact" autocomplete="on">
<br>