PDA

View Full Version : Safari can't connect to the Server


trickyshot
07-14-2013, 05:18 PM
Hello :-D

I have upgraded to MAMP 2.1.3 and the Apache and MySQL servers show green lights…however when I try to view the page via 'Preview in Browser' button in Dreamweaver (CS5) I get "Safari can't connect to the Server".
I followed these instructions: http://documentation.mamp.info/en/mamp/installation/updating-mamp

The site comes up no problem in Dreamweaver to edit but it won't 'Preview'.

In 'Manage Sites' the website is set up correctly with the correct Web URL's used.

Any ideas!? :(

gentleone
07-14-2013, 06:45 PM
Is it only in Safari or also other browsers?

trickyshot
07-14-2013, 07:06 PM
Hi
It affects all Browsers
This is an interesting alternative to MAMP http://coolestguyplanettech.com/downtown/install-and-configure-apache-mysql-php-and-phpmyadmin-osx-108-mountain-lion but I think MAMP should still be OK...even with Maverick when its released for the Mac. I did post on the MAMP forum but the 'bar' is pretty deserted it seems!
Its a bit weird when I can see the same files on the server! Something simple is the problem...

gentleone
07-14-2013, 07:29 PM
I personally have still MAMP 1.0, so I don't know what you're issue might be. All I can say is if you have green lights, MAMP is not the problem, but somewhere in your Site Manager in DW you go wrong.

Do you have both 'remote' and 'testing' checked in 'Servers' in the Site Manager?

trickyshot
07-14-2013, 07:35 PM
Yes I think your'e right...for some reason Dreamweaver may not be following the path to the 'new' MAMP.
I only have 'testing' checked as the remote server does not exist.

If you are on MAMP 1.0 which Dreamweaver version are you on?

gentleone
07-14-2013, 07:38 PM
This is an interesting alternative to MAMP http://coolestguyplanettech.com/downtown/install-and-configure-apache-mysql-php-and-phpmyadmin-osx-108-mountain-lion
Yes, you can install Apache, MySql and PHP through the terminal if you're brave enough to do that :) Installing MAMP is easier... it does all the hard work for you.

gentleone
07-14-2013, 07:41 PM
If you are on MAMP 1.0 which Dreamweaver version are you on?
I have the Creative Suite 5.5 which has DW 11.5 in it.

trickyshot
07-14-2013, 07:44 PM
Well I'm behind the times...thinking seriously about Adobe Creative Cloud to get back up to speed...big changes in Dreamweaver apparently...

Interesting 'spinny-logo' effect on your site! How did you do it!?

gentleone
07-14-2013, 08:03 PM
Well I'm behind the times...thinking seriously about Adobe Creative Cloud to get back up to speed...big changes in Dreamweaver apparently...
If you use Design View in an older version of DW, than you're getting behind really quick, but if you use Code View, than there's little change. A HTML editor is a HTML editor. You'll miss some code hinting for the new HTML5 elements/tags and CSS3 properties, but that's about it.
I don't know if there is a big difference in connecting to MAMP in an older version. Which DW version do you have?

Interesting 'spinny-logo' effect on your site! How did you do it!?
CSS3 transform 'rotate' on :hover.

https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/CSS/transform



.

trickyshot
07-14-2013, 08:47 PM
The reason I updated MAMP was because of MySQLi - MySQL should not now be used for development as advised on the PHP Admin side of MAMP...

trickyshot
07-14-2013, 10:31 PM
I have just noticed three forward slashes...don't think thats right is it?

1068

gentleone
07-14-2013, 11:51 PM
I have just noticed three forward slashes...don't think thats right is it?

1068
I think those 3 forward slashes is normal if it's loading a file locally in the browser straight from your finder or from DW if you didn't defined your site first in DW. But I assume you did define your site properly, if not then there lies the problem.

If I preview a site, then I get an url like this:
http://localhost:8888/vimble/index.php




.

domedia
07-15-2013, 08:20 PM
I have just noticed three forward slashes...don't think thats right is it?

1068

I think those 3 forward slashes is normal if it's loading a file locally in the browser [/url]

Gentleone is right, if that saves you any time.

trickyshot
07-21-2013, 08:21 PM
The solution was simple, trash the NEW MAMP INSTALL and start again!

My markers!...
- do not remove the old MAMP folder containing htdocs from Applications or bad things happen...in my case I deleted my sites! Thank you Time Machine for giving them back.
- Time Machine would not restore the Applications folder but if you click the MAMP folder, then the htdocs within it, then that will be restored.
- follow very carefully - http://documentation.mamp.info/en/mamp/installation/updating-mamp - if it doesn't work first time as in my case - trash the new MAMP and start from scratch.
- probably a good idea to dupilcate htdocs folder with the websites in just in case
-if you have a Dreamweaver extensions folder in MAMP (created by having extensions from DMXZone for example) drag that across as well.
- Remember to hold down the Command key whilst dragging folders to avoid just having an alias.

trickyshot
07-21-2013, 10:35 PM
Sorry...I duplicated in error :-x

trickyshot
07-21-2013, 10:39 PM
The solution to get things moving again is here http://www.dreamweaverclub.com/forum/showthread.php?p=211396#post211396