PDA

View Full Version : IE 10 Issues?


xarzu
07-09-2013, 05:31 PM
Has anyone had any problems where a website behaves differently with Microsoft Internet Explorer 10? I got a call from someone who said that he could not use a drop-down window on a web page I manage after he upgraded to Internet Explorer 10 and he did not have any problems before.

If my memory serves me, it is not possible to have two versions of IE on a computer (which is what I would like to do to test this). Is that right?
Also, is it possible to uninstall and reinstall Internet Explorer?

It is an ASP.NET application. In order for me to debug what is going on, I will have to recreate the error. Currently, I do not have IE 10 on my computer. I have IE 9 and I cannot recreate the error with IE 9.
I am currently in the middle of another project. So this is why I need to know if I can have two versions of the browser on my computer at the same time.

I think this might be Microsoft's way of making people move from ASP.NET and SILVERLIGHT to HTML5.

What do you think?

gentleone
07-09-2013, 05:59 PM
You can not have two or more versions of IE installed on your computer. You will need a virtual machine (http://lifehacker.com/5714966/five-best-virtual-machine-applications) if you want to run multiple and different OS's on your machine. There is also IE tester (http://my-debugbar.com/wiki/IETester/HomePage), but I heard it's not really 100% as the real thing, so therefor IMO unreliable.

VM ware come with a free trial, so you can just install it to solve this issue. You can also register for a free trial account at an online VM ware service such as Browserstack (http://www.browserstack.com/). With this you don't have to install stuff, so you can start immediately with testing.

edbr
07-10-2013, 01:45 AM
you can always verify if working on http://browsershots.org/ also

gentleone
07-10-2013, 03:02 PM
you can always verify if working on http://browsershots.org/ also
Browsershots works till some extend. If you want to check the alignment of elements is consistent across different browsers, but for the rest it's not so useful. It's kind of hard to debug from a static image 8)

edbr
07-11-2013, 01:01 AM
i wasnt meaning a a development tool, verify as in layout. an actually if there is an error and Ie tester replicates it you will be good to go

domedia
07-11-2013, 07:14 PM
Am I the only lazy one that uses IE development tools for this? F12

gentleone
07-11-2013, 07:55 PM
Am I the only lazy one that uses IE development tools for this? F12
As far as I know you will not have 100% accurate simulation as the real thing. I understood the difference lies a lot in security things, so this won't effect much difference when testing websites, but the IE10 javascript engine tries to replicate older bugs and hide unavailable functionality when earlier versions are simulated which of course may not be a 100% accurate simulation either. So... IMO better to test in real IE versions.

d a v e
10-11-2013, 05:26 PM
id you've got a link we can check it out in ie10 for you - did they have compatability mode checked or soemthing?

krzy
10-23-2013, 07:19 PM
IE simulator is even worse as IE itself

Bill Goldberg
04-26-2017, 04:22 AM
I have tried IE 10 for some time but I didn't felt comfortable so I just quit using it.

wpblog
05-30-2017, 10:56 AM
IE always has issues in it so people avoid it to use.