PDA

View Full Version : Several questions and how much to charge

Gnarly
06-07-2013, 08:29 PM
Greetings Web Designers,

My boss has just asked me to redesign our company website. It's been about a year since I've done any web design, and I'm feeling sort of rusty. He immediately asked for three things I've never done before, so I was hoping some of you with more experience might be willing to lend a hand.

Firstly, he owns three URLs, and would like two of them to redirect into a "mother site". I have no idea how to do it!

Next, he wants the "mother site" to be a split-screen design, with one company's website on the left side, and the other on the right. I've never done this before. Frankly, I would rather make two sites, and just cross link them. I have googled and found some tuts on this, though not a good example yet.

He also wants visitors to be able to prepay for services, so I need a shopping cart. There would also need to be an option for date and time input. And I would need to install one on each side of the layout. I remember reading good things about one called ZenCart, I think. Is that a good place to start?

Lastly, I really have no idea what to charge for all of this. I've made a few websites before, and I have always undersold myself in the past. I want to make it worth my time, but I don't want to ask too much.
It's basically:
- 2 redirects
- The design of a split layout single page site, featuring:
- 2 email links
- 2 prepay options
- 3 or 4 blurbs about services
- 1 logo design
- And links to facebook, youtube, and twitter.
- Also he mentioned google ad words, which I know nothing about.

Sorry for the loooong post. I'm just trying to cover all the bases before I begin. Any input would be appreciated!

edbr
06-08-2013, 01:12 AM
redirects can be done using 301 redirects, if you go to the site control panel it can be done from there , if not add a .htaccess file with the redirect Redirect 301 / http://www.mynewwebsite.com