PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Browser Lab IE7


Alfavista
02-05-2013, 11:16 AM
Hi All,

I have just discovered that when I test my site using Adobe Browser Lab, IE7 is now removed.

See link http://blogs.adobe.com/browserlab/2013/01/01/browserlab-update-removes-ie7/

As a relative novice, am I right in thinking that if I simply replace the following code:
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
With:
<meta http-equiv=“X-UA-Compatible” content=“IE=7” />

Then using the IE8 tab in browser lab will I get a representation of how the page will look in IE7?

I'm not really familiar with the compatibility switching mode in IE8 and whether this is done automatically as part of the browser lab integration.

It seems there are plenty of testing services out there except most want to charge, so Browser Lab has been particularly useful in the past.

Any pointers greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance

Ricky55
02-05-2013, 02:13 PM
The best way to test if you can is to use the browser its self.

Those two lines of code that you list are totally different.

The first one is required if you're using the transitional or strict HTML doctypes. and its used to set the character encoding for the document. If you are using the HTML5 doctype <!DOCTYPE html> then you only need to use:


<meta charset="utf-8">


The second line forces newer versions of Internet Explorer to use compatibility mode and emulate older versions of IE. As far as I know though using this though won't be the same as testing in IE7.

Alfavista
02-05-2013, 04:37 PM
Thank you for your reply.

I am using the transitional HTML / strict doctype so that I can do a W3C validation.

Ideally I would like access to IE7 but do not have that facility, which is why I have gone down the Browser Lab route to emulate.
I guess what I was hoping for is confirmation that I am doing the right thing by replacing
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
with <meta http-equiv=“X-UA-Compatible” content=“IE=7” />
Or do I need to combine in some other form?

At the moment when I test I'm still unsure as to whether Browser Lab is actually working using IE8 and automatically emulating the IE7 browser by using this replacement code.

Ricky55
02-05-2013, 06:17 PM
You can still validate using html5 there is no reason at all to be not using the html5 doc type so I'd start. You should also be using the new tags that html5 brings such as header, footer and nav etc

You wouldn't replace that code you'd just add it as well as. Like I said they both do different things.

Out of interest why can't you use ie7 what os are you running?

Regarding confirmation others may be able to say for sure but I'm 99% sure this code wont emulate ie7.

Try searching stack overflow there are loads of posts on this topic.

Alfavista
02-05-2013, 07:38 PM
I was unaware of the html5 W3c validation as I thought it wasn't the official web standard, so very useful to pursue further, thank you.

I'm trying to understand, would you then have the code on separate lines as follows?

<meta http-equiv=“X-UA-Compatible” content=“IE=7” />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />

I'm using Dreamweaver CS 5.5 on OSX which makes it a little trickier than usual, otherwise I understand that microsoft enable the ablilty to emulate the various old operating systems (Vista, XP) so that the old versions of IE can be loaded and tested.

I will try and search stack overflow so thanks for that.

Ricky55
02-05-2013, 08:56 PM
I've been using the html5 doctype for about three years now. It's still in development but so is CSS3, if we wait for things to become a full standard we'd never use or progress anything. Like I said previously there's just no reason not to use it and loads of good reasons to use it.

Yes you would use both lines of code.

If you use a Mac its even easier to test in IE. I use a Mac and run Parallels, just stick a copy of Windows XP on it and you can install IE.

I have Windows 7 and XP installed on my Mac via Parallels that way I can test in IE9 and IE8. For IE7 I just do the same on my Mac Book Pro but there is software and techniques that will allow you to run multiple versions of IE on one system.

http://tredosoft.com/Multiple%5FIE

If you don't want to buy Parallels you could try Virtual Box which is free and works fine for testing. Its not as slick as Parallels but it is free and it does work well enough.

https://www.virtualbox.org

Thats just one of the reasons why I love developing websites on a Mac as its so easy to test on. If you download xCode from Apple you can get the iOS simulator too so you can test on iPad and iPhone directly on your Mac.

I've tried Adobe Browser Lab and its a right pain in the ass and slow get testing the proper way.

Ps
Do you even need to support IE7? The last site I did I dropped support for IE7. Looking at the analytics it was less than 4% of users. These users now get taken to a page that prompts them to upgrade their browser. If they choose not to do this then they just get a text only version of the site.

I realise that sometimes you can't drop IE7 but in many situations now you can.

gentleone
02-06-2013, 09:30 AM
I've tried Adobe Browser Lab and its a right pain in the ass and slow get testing the proper way.
I second that. I'd recommend also a Virtual Machine or even better an online testing service so that you don't have to invest in OS software all the time.
I use http://www.browserstack.com/ and there is even a special offer by Microsoft for testing 3 months for free with Browserstack; http://www.modern.ie/virtualization-tools
With Browserstack you can even test your sites locally (if you have MAMP or WAMP).... a BIG plus.

Ricky55
02-06-2013, 02:27 PM
Looks good that browser stack although its quite pricey for what it is. Whats performance like?

Might check out their free trial.

gentleone
02-06-2013, 03:45 PM
I don't think it's pricey for what it is. Have a good look what you get for that $19 p/m, Richard.
Performance is really okay. Not as fast as you would normally browse, but compared to the beginning of the service (1 year ago) performance improved a lot.
Before Browserstack I've used VMware Fusion on my Mac too and it helped me a lot of course, but I really prefer Browserstack now.
Take indeed the trial and see for yourself.

domedia
02-06-2013, 06:00 PM
In Windows 9, I just bring up the developer tools and change the browser and document mode. Thus making it IE8 or IE7.

Anyone else doing this?

Ricky55
02-06-2013, 08:46 PM
Each to their own I guess. Wouldnt personally want to pay a monthly fee just to browser test but we all have our own ways of working.

edbr
02-07-2013, 05:37 AM
In Windows 9, I just bring up the developer tools and change the browser and document mode. Thus making it IE8 or IE7.

Anyone else doing this?
well i do now :)

Alfavista
02-07-2013, 04:56 PM
Thank you all for the dialogue, it's very interesting to know the different ways in which the IE7 browser testing can be approached.
From one of my previous posts gentleone suggested dropbox for live testing which would be a good approach potentially as I could access my test site using IE9.
As a relative novice is it possible to relay a little more about the process of adapting IE9 via the developer tools, changing the browser and document mode as domedia is suggesting please?

domedia
02-08-2013, 02:01 PM
In Windows 9, I just bring up the developer tools and change the browser and document mode. Thus making it IE8 or IE7.

As a relative novice is it possible to relay a little more about the process of adapting IE9 via the developer tools, changing the browser and document mode as domedia is suggesting please?

Did you try to follow what I wrote? It's really simple. Open IE and 2 clicks.

Alfavista
02-08-2013, 07:24 PM
Yes I can see now.

Thank you it's a real saver.