PDA

View Full Version : remote element too big for device display

RainForest
11-09-2012, 11:11 PM
Hello,

I'm just learning how to design for devices. My front page is a standalone page on the site in that it is the only page having remote elements and three columns. I have two questions related to this?

1) Is there a way to resize remote elements and still have them display correctly (i.e., no scrollbars)? If not, how do I eliminate the elements from the device css while leaving them intact on the desktop css?

2) How do I move the content of the right sidebar to the left sidebar just for display on devices?

edbr
11-10-2012, 12:47 AM
make a stye sheet specificaly for hand held maybe

gentleone
11-10-2012, 12:51 AM
Is there a way to resize remote elements and still have them display correctly (i.e., no scrollbars)? If not, how do I eliminate the elements from the device css while leaving them intact on the desktop css?
Do you mean with remote elements third party content? Content where you don't have control over their CSS?
To have a layout that respond to the available screen width you must look into CSS3 media queries.
How do I move the content of the right sidebar to the left sidebar just for display on devices?
You can accomplish this with JavaScript, but is not recommended. A common thing is if you have a sidebar div floated next to you content div, you override with CSS3 media queries for smalle screens the 'float: right' to float: none'. This will drop the sidebar below the content on smaller sceens. But it's recommended to start with the small screen in your CSS (mobile first) which means that you give your sidebar that 'float: right' if the screen is wide enough to display it properly... for example on 1024px (iPad landscape and others)

RainForest
11-13-2012, 04:06 PM
Do you mean with remote elements third party content? Content where you don't have control over their CSS?