PDA

View Full Version : older versions

doofous
09-13-2012, 11:10 AM
I am a retired manager who is a volunteer at local senior centers, helping teach old folks like myself at local nonprofits put together basic informational websites. All of the design and programming software I had used before I moved into management and then retired went back with my work computer but in any case is incompatible and non-upgradeable with my iMac .

I would like to use Dreamweaver for these sites, looking forward to the day when they might want to upgrade their sites or migrate them to a different host. The problem is the cost for Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Acrobat Pro for my Imac. It puts quite a dent in home budgeting. Iím running OSX 10.7. Question: If I look for new older versions of Dreamweaver on eBay or elsewhere, what is the oldest version I have to buy to be compatible with that operating system and 10.8?

johnMoss
09-15-2012, 07:43 PM
Better solution: If your needs are limited, i.e. not ongoing, and you're just doing this one site, Adobe has a membership program whereby you can "rent" the software you need on a monthly basis. I haven't looked recently, but at last check for example the entire suite of the web software was around 50 bucks a month. Rent it for however long & then turn it off, I don't think there is a minimum time commitment.

johnMoss
09-15-2012, 07:45 PM
Also, older versions of DW are not set up for newer standards such as html5. Not a major issue but bound to save you some headaches...

johnMoss
09-15-2012, 07:51 PM
keep thinking of things after I hit the enter button :)
You say you are a volunteer at the senior centers. That in itself is a noble endeavor and as such, I think it quite easy to walk into any small business print shop and, upon advice of what you need to do, they would probably let you borrow some of their old software. Very common for such entities to hang onto previous versions.

doofous
09-16-2012, 01:30 PM
...for the suggestions.