PDA

View Full Version : Unexpected gap at the top of my site.


JoeH
07-19-2012, 11:11 AM
Hi, Novice question so I hope you can help.

I'm updating our website - the original is here www.provision-cctv.com and the work in progress file is here :- www.provision-cctv.com/july12test

On all the test pages there is a gap at the top of the table but I can't see what is causing the issue in the code. On the original site the code reads :-

</head>

<body class="background" topmargin="0">
<table width="979" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<!--DWLayoutTable-->
<tr>
<td width="306" rowspan="2" valign="top"><img src="images/provision_01.jpg" alt="PRO VISION CCTV" width="306" height="113" /></td>
<td width="673" height="65" valign="top"><img src="images/provision_02.jpg" alt="Pro Vision Distributors of branded cctv and access control" width="663" height="65" /></td>
</tr>
<tr>

And on the test model - again after the head reads :-

</head>

<body class="background" topmargin="0">
<table width="979" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center" bgcolor="#FFFFFF">
<!--DWLayoutTable-->
<tr>
<td height="65" colspan="2" valign="top"><SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">


showImage();

</script></td><!--DWLayoutEmptyCell-->&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td width="306" valign="top"><!--DWLayoutEmptyCell-->&nbsp;</td>
<td width="673" height="48" align="right" ><a href="search.php" class="top-menu">Search</a> <a href="news.html" class="top-menu">News</a> <a href="videos.html" class="top-menu">Videos</a> <a href="brands.php" class="top-menu"> Brands</a> <a href="catalogue.html" class="top-menu">Catalogues</a> <a href="datasheets.php" class="top-menu">Datasheets</a></td>
</tr>
</table>

I can't see what is causing the gap - any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

Joe.

d a v e
07-19-2012, 11:20 AM
why the hell are you building a site in tables when it doesn't contain tabular data! :)

the rest of the code is pretty awful to: no headings, paragraphs made with line breaks... <marquee>? seriously?

i would rip it all up and start again with the layout and code it properly, or try wordpress or hire a web designer to make it properly

lose the fully justified text (make it left aligned) and increase font size and use dark grey for text; increase the line height a little

i know you didn't ask for a review but when i went to investigate the problem i found a lot more than i bargained for ;)

JoeH
07-19-2012, 12:14 PM
Hi dave,

Thanks for the reply and the free crit - looks like i got more than i bargained for as well!

Joe.

d a v e
07-19-2012, 02:31 PM
lol - also the white/blue border of the header (where the curve is next to the logo) isn't anti-alised (i.e. it's jagged)

should be like this http://pp.kpnet.fi/prescott/stuff/header4.jpg

JoeH
07-19-2012, 05:08 PM
Hi dave,

Back again - thanks for the constructive comments! You can't hide any work-in-progress file once it's on the web eh!

Your comments are helpful and valid - but would your response answer my question? Sorry to bring it back on track.

Thanks.

Joe.
--

d a v e
07-19-2012, 08:46 PM
do you mean the space above the header at the very top of the page?

JoeH
07-20-2012, 08:42 AM
Yes that's the one!

There are many tweaks in the pipeline - thanks for your observations - but it's the gap that i want to get rid of for now.

Joe.
--

Corrosive
07-20-2012, 08:49 AM
In your stylesheet, add the rule;

body {margin: 0; padding: 0}

and see if that clears it.

d a v e
07-20-2012, 08:57 AM
take out the no breaking space in this code (the & nbsp;)
<body class="background" topmargin="0">
&nbsp;<table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="979" align="center" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" border="0">
<!--DWLayoutTable-->

in your style sheet you have a missing curly bracket thing misssing from the very end (.video)
}

add this to the stylesheet
body {margin:0; padding:0;}

oh corrosive slipped in his body style there while i was writing but dont forget to take out the nonbreaking space

but seriously, using DW layout tables is just a plain bad idea :)

domedia
07-20-2012, 02:25 PM
but seriously, using DW layout tables is just a plain bad idea :)
Quoted for thruthness. Unless one embrace web standards, your web designery expire date will backstab you in the near future.

JoeH
07-20-2012, 02:45 PM
Well, thanks very much for the advice - I believe that it has done the trick!

I have taken on-board all your comments on tables and design etc. However let's just look at this as work-in-progress and there may well be some long nights looming with some very thick books!

Just plucking up enough courage to ask another question - but may just take the weekend off to recover from this battering!

Again, many thanks.

Joe.

d a v e
07-20-2012, 03:30 PM
you're welcome. ask away when you're ready ;)

edbr
07-21-2012, 02:15 AM
rest up then and come back swinging :)