PDA

View Full Version : href # linking mumbo jumbo

BrowsingBear
06-16-2012, 09:02 AM
Sorry guys, I think I posted this in the wrong section... Anyway, thanks to everyone who has helped to build this great site. It looks great and I look forward to being a part of it...
A little about my pedigree.
I am a former Tree Climber (Arborist) who after 21 years, has decided to come down out of the trees to join the human society. I am a royal noob to dreamweaver but have punched out a couple of sites and am really beginning to enjoy it.

I have hit my first snag and a lack of technical jargon is taking its toll, so I am hoping you can help me out. Here goes

Having trouble with linking to a specific part of a page. ie not just the top of the page.
What is wrong with this code
<li><a href="points.html#home">Reports</a></li>
<li><a href="points.html#about">Reports</a></li>
<li><a href="points.html#gallery">Reports</a></li>

I can create a hyperlink to /points.html without any problem but the links with the following code added #home or #about or #gallery after /points.html page do not work.

What is strange is that right clicking the <li><a href="points.html#home">Reports</a></li> link and "open in new tab" does work and open the correct page (in chrome) but not ie8.

Anyone who knows what is going on and can explain to me would be appreciated til the end of time

Corrosive
06-16-2012, 12:43 PM
Welcome to the forum. I don't think you need the page references in your anchor code. Have you tried;

<li><a href="#home">Reports</a></li>
<li><a href="#about">Reports</a></li>
<li><a href="#gallery">Reports</a></li>

at all?

Mind you, in page anchors are nor my strong point! I'd put this content on separate pages.

BrowsingBear
06-16-2012, 03:59 PM