PDA

View Full Version : Let Dreamweaver "Fix" It...


Lyriel
05-26-2012, 01:01 AM
Today I opened one of my web pages in Dreamweaver that has an .swf object embedded. Dreamweaver said it contained an object that might not work with latest browsers, and offered to convert it to safe script for me.

There was no further explanation, so I said OK.

Dreamweaver “fixed” it for me, and now the Flash object has disappeared completely. The “rectangle” in which the video used to play doesn’t even show up anymore on the live site.

What did it do and, more important, HOW CAN I UNDO THIS??
:confused:

Corrosive
05-26-2012, 09:54 AM
Can we have a link to the website page in question please?

gentleone
05-26-2012, 01:03 PM
HOW CAN I UNDO THIS??
and you don't have to scream... we hear you! ;)

Lyriel
05-26-2012, 05:03 PM
To gentleone: This is actually the first time I've shouted in any posting... It may give you an idea of how incredibly frustrating this is. I have really had it with programs that think they know best.

To Corrosive: Here are the links:
No swf: http://www.lyrielclaire.com/QC-page1.htm
With swf (page wasn't "fixed"): http://www.lyrielclaire.com/QC-page2.htm

Thanks to you both. Hope you have an idea of what I can do to restore the orb.

Corrosive
05-26-2012, 05:12 PM
If you've got your page with the flash object working then why not just replace the new page with the old one? Or replace;

AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0','width','144','heigh t','144','src','Graphics/Flash/Orb','quality','high','pluginspage','http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer','movie','Graphics/Flash/Orb' ); //end AC code

</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="144" height="144">

<param name="movie" value="Graphics/Flash/Orb.swf">

<param name="quality" value="high">

<embed src="Graphics/Flash/Orb.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="144" height="144"></embed>

</object></noscript>

with

<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="144" height="144">

<param name="movie" value="Graphics/Flash/Orb.swf">

<param name="quality" value="high">

<embed src="Graphics/Flash/Orb.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="144" height="144"></embed>

</object>

The 'orb' works fine in my browser :)

johnMoss
05-26-2012, 10:46 PM
The 'orb' works fine in my browser

Mine too...

d a v e
05-27-2012, 05:51 AM
works for me in firefox 12 on windows 7 and in ietester from ie 5-ie10.
so can you tell us what operating system (s) and browser and browser version it doesn't work in?

Lyriel
05-27-2012, 08:18 PM
Just FYI, I've been testing it in Firefox 12.

I tried copying the code from a "good" document to one that was not showing the orb, but the entire page disappeared. ??? :-?

Then I opened up a page in Dreamweaver that had not been converted and sure enough, it asked me if I wanted to convert. Instead of clicking any response, I went to "Help". What is buried in the instructions here is to make sure to upload the Scripts folder to the website every time Dreamweaver does the conversion. I did that, everything works fine now.

Thanks for the interest and great support here!

Lyriel :p