PDA

View Full Version : Where is the "FIND" button ?


K.Simmonds
05-02-2012, 04:39 PM
I'm always searching through the code in Dreamweaver (CS5) on a web page, for a specific word. Where is the "FIND" button? If I right click I've got "Find and replace" "find selection" or "Find next" none of which are what I want. I just want to find one word. Any clue ?

johnMoss
05-05-2012, 01:51 AM
If such a feature exists its news to me. But you can always copy & paste the code into excel & use it's find tool.

K.Simmonds
05-05-2012, 06:40 AM
Good idea - I hadn't thought of that. Strange that Dreamweaver haven't had it since the beginning though, seems like a basic necessity.

Thanks

johnMoss
05-07-2012, 06:11 PM
A thought yes... But given DW is in function a visual editor, I suspect the line of thinking is one clicks on a visual element in a page and the corresponding code of course gets highlighted. Semi-find :)

domedia
05-07-2012, 08:48 PM
Import into Excel in order to use a find function? :shock:

What happens if you do CTRL + f in code view?

johnMoss
05-07-2012, 08:52 PM
whelp, learn sumt'n new ever day round here aw haw... :)

gentleone
05-07-2012, 09:14 PM
Yes, indeed... within the find & replace dialog you can also do only a 'find'

K.Simmonds
05-07-2012, 11:54 PM
Excellent. I didn't know about the Ctrl + f. But you say you can do just a "find". How do you do that? Even with Ctll + f it throws up "find next" "find and replace" but not just "find".

johnMoss
05-08-2012, 12:02 AM
K this was news to me too :( . Looking at the box its not a button, rather just leaving the replace box empty is a 'find only' scenario. I use CS4, so if this has changed in 5 or 6 I might be wrong here...

gentleone
05-08-2012, 05:51 AM
Yes, fill in the 'find' box with that what you want to find... leave the replace box empty and just click 'find next'.

K.Simmonds
05-08-2012, 06:39 AM
That's me sorted out then ... thanks a lot.