PDA

View Full Version : confusion and questions on templates editable regions

harleynut97
03-28-2012, 02:55 PM
Hi, I'm new to using css...so bear with me. I have some questions on dreamweaver template I created... particularly editable regions.
Please look at the attached images, to help see what I really want

Let me first explain what I have done so far...

1) I created a html page and basically designed how I want my site to look.
2) I created an external style sheet, so that I can use this to make sitewide changes.
3) From this page I created a template
4) So now I want to create NEW page that utilizes the template and my external CSS style sheet
5) What I really want out of all of this is, that I am able to be allowed to edit everything except for how the website properties is postitioned ie... if I want to swap out a header image I can, but the location of the header remains the same

Here are my questions on editable regions to accomplish the above...

1) Do you define the editable regions on the new page that you created from the template .... or do you define the regions on the template itself.

2) If the page that the template was created from used an external css style (my main_css), When I create a new page from the template, do I have to link that external style sheet, or is it already linked?

3) I'm confused on what I should be making editable to allow the changes I want to be able to make, but making sure the postioning / margins / padding of the key elements remains in tact.

4) I am also going to be using media queries to define the site to be able to be used on different devices. I am confused on if I make certain pages from templates and define regions to be editable or uneditable. Does that prevent me from being able to restructure the web pages to be able to be resized and formated for other devices?

Any help on the above would be appreciated. Thanks, Carl

DWcourse
03-28-2012, 03:42 PM