PDA

View Full Version : Calling all web designers

jtan
03-22-2012, 01:27 AM
Hi,
I am thinking of becoming a web designer BUT I am a complete newbie to all this. I am thinking of a career change so I just want to find out more about being a web designer so here are my questions.

1) Other than Dreamweaver, what else do I need to learn to design a web page?

2) I would like to work from home. How can I go about doing that - how do I find jobs?

3) What about hosting, how do I do that or do you just design the pages and give the files to the client?

4) What about maintaining the website?

5) I am looking at this as a permanent career change so if you think there is anything else I need to know, please post them here as well.

Many thanks in advance. I don't have any friends who are web designers so I couldn't ask for advice so I am hoping to make some new web designer friend here.

gentleone
03-22-2012, 08:43 AM
Welcome to the forum, jtan!

There are web designers and there are web developers, but there are people that do both, so my guess is that you want to do both.
As a web designer there are certain principals to keep in mind when designing a website. If you know them it will make it easier for you to create effective websites: http://uxdesign.smashingmagazine.com/2008/01/31/10-principles-of-effective-web-design/
You can use Photoshop, Fireworks or Illustrator to design your layouts or a combination of these graphic programs, or you can design directly in the browser. The latter might be unorthodox and some say it kills creativity, which is true 'til a certain point. I personally start a rough idea in a graphic program and design further in the browser.
As a web developer you need to know the basics of HTML and CSS. If you understand those you know how elements react to each other once you drop them into a HTML document.
- know the difference between inline and block-level elements
- the normal page flow
- CSS box model
http://htmldog.com/guides/