PDA

View Full Version : Creating multiple pages and using CSS

Dannybhoy
03-19-2012, 02:56 PM
Hi everyone

Im a newbie on here and looking for someone to just set me straight on a couple of things looked over old posts and it helps somewhat however I shall now explain my dilemma.

Just started a wireframe for a site I am doing as part of my marketing degree for a real business...I have just over 3 weeks to complete a 12 page website.

Now I have a basic understanding of css and we covered html in class only basic stuff....I have done a baisc layour of my index page and created an external style sheet and saved this in my folder in its own css folder....the page is basic enough I just created the logo,navigation,header,body and footer divs and applied colour etc I now want want to add more pages using this basic layout and then obviously edit each page....

However I am not sure the best way to do this...

Can I save this index page as a template?
What i did was go to save as and saved all my other pages ie duplicated this page 12 times

My only problem now is that If I now go in to edit parts of the other pages that are different ie body, image placeholders I cannot change any of the CSS as obviously it changes every page then. How do I overcome this do i have to make other style sheets for the other pages ? I have 3 books here and still quite puzzled about what to do or what I have done wrong

any help would be greatly appreciated

Corrosive
03-19-2012, 03:14 PM
Your best best is to keep your website consistent throughout in look and layout. That way, one stylesheet should do the lot. You can also use Dreamweaver's built in template system to make site-wide updates to consistent elements (for example, adding a menu link where you don't want to have to update the menu on every page).

Otherwise you will indeed be creating page specific styles. These can go in between the <head> tags of an individual page if you need them.

Hope that helps.

Dannybhoy