PDA

View Full Version : Dreamweaver Tables


nosnevets_semaj
01-13-2012, 09:50 PM
Hi,

This is basic stuff to you guys really, but I'm just starting out in web design so your help is so gratefully recieved.

I create a web layout in PS. I then split the page up into sections and individual jpegs or whatever.

Then using tables I insert these individually to create the page.

Now when I preview this in explorer I appear to have a white line to the left and top of the page. Its as though I have a border on, but I don't.

I could just apply a background colour or create white pages but I don't want this.

Am I using tables wrong or is there some setting I am missing.

Please help:oops:

DWcourse
01-13-2012, 10:27 PM
Sorry but exporting from Photoshop and using tables for your page layout is a poor practice.

Corrosive
01-14-2012, 08:06 AM
Am I using tables wrong


Yes, tables are for tabular data. You need to research semantic markup to create a stable, understandable and cross-browser compatible layout. You can use divs (divisions) to split your page up and then control them using CSS.

nosnevets_semaj
01-14-2012, 04:38 PM
Yes seems I have not been using tables correctly. I'm teaching myself DW without structured books or training so thanks chaps.