PDA

View Full Version : Cannot Get Basic Include to Work (Dreamweaver)


kerryg
01-09-2012, 04:21 PM
I understand the concept behind "includes" and have done a lot of poking around for how to execute. However, I still cannot get my first attempt at one to work.

I'm on Mac OX 10.6.8, Dreamweaver CS5

ONE:
I've installed MAMP locally and know it is working properly as the tests have run fine and the MAMP server page states success.

TWO:
The code I'm using for placing the include in my main file is:
<?php include("includes/Lorenz_Hero.html"); ?>

The PHP badge does appear in code view mode

THREE:
since it's an HTML file, I've seen that you are to add:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .html
or
AddHandler application/x-httpd-php5 .html .htm .php

to the htaccess file located:
Applications/MAMP/bin/phpMyAdmin/contrib/htaccess
I did this (should they be preceded by a # ?)

FOUR:
My two files are, and reside as follows:
Applications/MAMP/htdocs/PHPtest/Lorenz_Home.html
and
Applications/MAMP/htdocs/PHPtest/includes/Lorenz_Hero.html

Is there a bit of code I need to add to file being called in the include?


LASTLY:
Obviously I'm missing something. I have spent a lot of time looking for an answer and just cannot find one. I hope the above information is clear and someone can point me in the right direction for an answer, or provide it here.

Thanks in advance for any help.

edbr
01-09-2012, 11:58 PM
i would recomend using php extension to your pages as it will just become tricky perhaps when you go truly live finding a server that yu can modify, secondly you could try html includes but you may come across the same problems i mentioned above.

if you really still want though you can try editing


<IfModule mime_module>
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
AddType application/x-httpd-php .html
AddType application/x-httpd-php .htm
AddType application/x-httpd-php .txt
</IfModule>


and .htaccess

<FilesMatch "\.(html|htm|txt)$">
SetHandler application/x-httpd-php
</FilesMatch>

kerryg
01-10-2012, 12:23 AM
Thank you...I will try your html advice.

But doing as you primarily advise (which I'd prefer), my question would be:
Can I simply change the file extension from .html to .php (which I had tried), or
do I need to re-format before doing that?
I have looked into this and just cannot find a sample of an HTML converted to
a PHP file to use as a guide.

Thank you again!

edbr
01-10-2012, 12:48 AM
changing php should work. You probably have but is php started as a service

if you make a page.php and put
<?php
info();
?>

and call it in a bowser what do you get?

domedia
01-10-2012, 01:14 PM
Also remember that you don't need to parse a html file as php to include it in a php file.

kerryg
01-10-2012, 02:16 PM
Well, I'm sorry, but I can't get this to work or simply don't understand the direction (as I said, this is very new to me). I've attached zip file with the test files (which I have placed: Applications/MAMP/htdocs/). If you have time or care to peek at this, let me know where I'm going wrong.

Thanks again for your time and efforts!

Ricky55
01-10-2012, 03:58 PM
I'd save all your pages as .php if you are using includes.

Your main file header-test.html

Isn't a full html page it only contains a DIV this should be a full page see below.

Not sure why this DIV needs an ID and well as a Class but ID's shouldn't have a # in front of them. Only use the # when you are selecting them via CSS.

So in your header-test.html rename to .php and use the following code.


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-US">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<link href="css/Lorenz2.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css">
<title>A Doc</title>

</head>

<body>

<div class="menuMain" id="menuMain">

<?php include("includes/header.php"); ?>

</div><!-- end menuMain -->

</body>
</html>


Also, any css should be in the main file not in the included file. Again see my code.

Finally remove the php info code from your header.php file.