PDA

View Full Version : Can't link a flash anim to a page on my site?

webperson
12-28-2011, 12:48 PM
Hello, New to the forum.

Um I'm finding something very hard that should be very easy.

I have inserted a flash anim into my site and there is no link option (like you have when you insert an image).

How do I link a flash anim to a html page on my site?

So when someone clicks on the flash anim it goes to my home page.

As I want a spinning logo to be my index page, then user clicks on it to enter and get taken to the home page.

Much help appreciated

thanks.

webperson
12-28-2011, 12:54 PM
also I'm using dreamweaver cs4 , thanks. And I'm not good at coding, hopefully there is a simple way to do this that I'm missing lol?

Chapo
12-28-2011, 10:22 PM
Well its very simple, the buttton function has to be made in the flash swf itself. You create a button in flash or the entire animation and ad the behavior go to web and just write home.html or any other link. Remember, the swf has to be in the folder as the site files.

Corrosive
12-29-2011, 11:07 AM
As I want a spinning logo to be my index page, then user clicks on it to enter and get taken to the home page.

Forget about it. Having a flash animation as your 'intro page' is outdated, annoys visitors and is incredibly bad for SEO.

domedia
12-29-2011, 01:43 PM
Welcome to the forum webperson!
Like Chapo said, the link has to be inserted in the .swf file. I would also follow Corrosives advice about just giving the user what they want, your home page, and not insert obstacles.

webperson
12-30-2011, 09:39 AM
Well its very simple, the buttton function has to be made in the flash swf itself. You create a button in flash or the entire animation and ad the behavior go to web and just write home.html or any other link. Remember, the swf has to be in the folder as the site files.

Hi Thanks I have macromedia flash 5 lol, I've opened the program and then isert my flash swf anim.

Could you tell me the steps after that thanks,