PDA

View Full Version : Cloud flare


edbr
11-19-2011, 01:06 AM
any one got any experience with this? I had my server go down and saw some sites (not mine) still showing a cached copy via these people.

https://www.cloudflare.com/plans explains it but i was just wondering if any one has commnet. I joinedthe free plan but as yet havent tried it . Im hesitant as to which site to try ...something about greeks bearing silver linings too good to be true or something

DWcourse
11-19-2011, 01:39 AM
I've used Cloudflare, which is a free add-on from Hostgator. My sites went down due to a routing problem at Cloudflare. Apparently they were only down I'm the Midwest (where I was at the time) but it was a few hours before anyone at Cloudflare or Hostgator could explain what was happening. I turned it off on my sites but have recently begun testing again on one site. To be honest, I can't tell if it's faster or not and Google Analytics site speed metric isn't conclusive although, to be honest, I don't trust Analytics for that anyway.

edbr
11-19-2011, 03:05 AM
right im wondering if that is the problem with my hosting provider somehow as they are using it. Ive asked but I am getting vague answers well, in as much as they admit they dont have an answer yet

DWcourse
11-19-2011, 03:14 AM
My experience: http://www.dwcourse.com/dreamweaver/hostgator-hosting.php

Cloudflare has distributed servers all over the place. An outage can take your site down for the region served by that data center. You host won't know anything about it unless Cloudflare informs them.

If you have an account on Cloudflare you could use the control panel to temporarily disable Cloudflare.

edbr
11-19-2011, 03:24 AM
yes pause for thought

edbr
11-19-2011, 03:44 AM
i just sent yur link to my hoster ill let you know if any reaction

ragortue
04-29-2015, 09:28 PM
Looking for new updates on Cloudfare if there's any on the cache issue? https://imagicon.info/cat/6-4/1.gif