PDA

View Full Version : CSS drop down menu and IE!!

lynzberry
11-09-2011, 03:10 PM
Hi All

I am relatively new to Dreamweaver and trying desperately to design a website for a friend. I found a tutorial for doing CSS drop down menus which works fine in Chrome except for 1 thing - where the menu item is too long for a single line it goes onto 2 lines, but the background box doesn't change size.

The main problem is that the hover menus don't work in IE 8 or 9! Soooo frustrated as I can't find any way to fix this. Have searched extensively over the web and tried some fixes but nothing seems to work.

Here is the code:

@charset "utf-8";
#navMenu {
margin:0;
padding:0;
}

#navMenu ul {
line-height:30px;

}

#navMenu li {
list-style:none;
float:left;
position:relative;
background-image:url(../../images/bg_navbar.jpg);
background:repeat;
background-color:#0b3183;
}

#navMenu ul li a {
text-align:center;
font-family:Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;
font-stretch:ultra-condensed;
font-size:13px;
text-decoration:none;
height:30px;
width:103px;
display:block;
color:#FFF;
border:1px solid #FFF;

}

#navMenu ul ul {
position:absolute;
visibility:hidden;
top:32px;

}

#navMenu ul li:hover ul {
visibility:visible;
display:inline;
}

/************************************************** ********/

#navMenu li:hover {
background:#3399ff;
}

#navMenu ul li:hover ul li a:hover {
background:#99ccff;
color:#000;
}

#navMenu a:hover {
color:#000;
}

.clearFloat {
clear:both;

The website is www.beechbehaviourcentre.co.uk

If anyone could help it would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

johnMoss
11-09-2011, 04:06 PM
I only see one box where the text bleeds over. Is there another? Why not just reduce the text? The use of the word vet for example in 'vet referral form' is redundant; it's a vet site. Just say 'referral form' .

johnMoss
11-09-2011, 04:23 PM
Unrelated, but move this tag from line 1 to somewhere down below your title in the "head" section.