PDA

View Full Version : Feedburner


tony09uk
11-07-2011, 10:20 PM
I am having troubles with Feedburner.

After I add my URL I get the message:

"The URL does not appear to reference a valid XML file. We encountered the following problem: Error on line 110: Open quote is expected for attribute "{1}" associated with an element type "WIDTH"."

When I go to "feedvalidator.org" it highlights the following problems:

1. <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

2. <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"><!-- InstanceBegin template="/Templates/tutorials.dwt" codeOutsideHTMLIsLocked="false" -->

110. <div id="video"><!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="video" --><OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,0,28;" WIDTH=560 HEIGHT=374><PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="videos/siteWelcome_toolbar.swf"> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE="#FFFFFF"><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true" ><EMBED src="videos/siteWelcome_toolbar.swf" allowfullscreen="true" quality=high bgcolor="#FFFFFF" WIDTH=560 HEIGHT=374 TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"></EMBED></OBJECT>

Why are these three sections a problem? and what can I do to solve them?

I have looked at Feedburner help and it says that uploading text from word and other word processing software is often the cause of problems. I have not added anything from word processing software and looking at the 3 lines that are causing the problems, I cannot work out what adjustments to make.

Please help.

domedia
11-07-2011, 10:46 PM
They tell you the issue in plain English :)
Look at the attribute WIDTH. And then look at the error message you got. Then read them both again if you don't get it.

johnMoss
11-08-2011, 12:19 AM
Aw D, "You" jus bein' tricky... :)

domedia
11-08-2011, 05:24 AM
It says, in plain English, "open quote is expected" and then it tells you exactly which attribute which is missing it and on which line. It's impossible to be more specific than that.

domedia
11-08-2011, 05:25 AM
Tony09 please tell me you understand this.

edbr
11-08-2011, 09:05 AM
have you solved it?

tony09uk
11-08-2011, 11:41 AM
Okay, obviously im being thick, and should know what an "open quote" is. I guess Im needing to wrap the width attribute in quotaion marks. If so then I get it :D

My apologies for being so frustrating