PDA

View Full Version : Site not compatible with Internet Explorer 7

Erin
11-02-2011, 04:08 AM
I am somewhat new to web design, but I am designing a website for a client. The site is done and uploaded via filezilla with no problems or so I thought. My client is using Internet Explorer 7, and although the site looks perfectly normal in safari, chrome, firefox, and even internet explorer 9, the site is not loading properly for her. The site is simple just rollover buttons and jpg images as the main graphics on the page. The buttons are working correctly yet none of the jpg images are. I have no idea what to do and I am in a time crunch, please help!

Erin
11-02-2011, 04:14 AM
sorry forgot the url: www.twistityoga.com

d a v e
11-02-2011, 07:05 AM
well one BIG problem is that all the images are HUGE, both in pixel and filesize.

you need to:
1. resize them to the correct size in your graphics application
2. export them as png-8 (no, not png-24) (jpegs only for photos and images with gradients that won't work as gif or png8
3. use some real text on the front page, and not use what is essentially a splash page - you're not giving search engines enough to find the site and making it possibly inaccessible to those using screen readers
4. test in multiple browsers before making a site live (google IEtester)
5. in IE7 the images load for me except the main twist-it image - because it's CMYK! (should be RGB)
6. omg - you made the whole site in images? please say you didn't ;) and without proper alt attributes too...
7. learn how to design for the web before taking on any other sites
9. go somewhere like here http://htmldog.com/

visually it's ok but otherwise this site is a complete mess

Corrosive
11-02-2011, 08:31 AM
We have super-fast broadband in this office and it took over 15 seconds to load the 'text-free' home page. Please, please, please take Dave's advice on board... And I mean every bit of it. You can't sell that as a website!

domedia
11-02-2011, 02:12 PM