PDA

View Full Version : How do I set up my web server and domain name?


designer_282
08-18-2011, 03:08 PM
I set up IIS on my computer and have a site under the wwwroot folder. I found a place online that supposedly lets you register a free .tk domain name, but I have some questions about what it's asking me for.

The "free" domain site is http://www.dot.tk/en/index.html?lang=en

I typed in my domain and now its asking for my DNS.It's giving me two options: Use dot tk DNS service or use your own DNS. Which one should I pick?

If i pick use dot tk DNS service, it ask for a host name (it filled that in with the domain i wanted) and an IP address. How would I find that ip address?

If i choose use my own DNS, it asks for a server name and ip address. Where would I find these if I choose this option?

dbepp
08-29-2011, 09:42 PM
In regards to your questions above.. the link you provide directs me to register for a free domain name.. not a hosting plan. you'll need both. If you use dot tk DNS Service, you will be hosting your site on their servers. Otherwise, your own DNS would mean that you have another host or you do so yourself.. that's where your IP would come in.

I highly suggest that if you are going to build a website, purchase a hosting plan and domain name from a company such as godaddy or the likes. Just do research before choosing one to determine your needs. Also, how are you building this site? What program are you using?

designer_282
09-01-2011, 08:48 PM
In regards to your questions above.. the link you provide directs me to register for a free domain name.. not a hosting plan. you'll need both. If you use dot tk DNS Service, you will be hosting your site on their servers. Otherwise, your own DNS would mean that you have another host or you do so yourself.. that's where your IP would come in.

I highly suggest that if you are going to build a website, purchase a hosting plan and domain name from a company such as godaddy or the likes. Just do research before choosing one to determine your needs. Also, how are you building this site? What program are you using?


oh okay, that makes sense. I was wanting to use my computer as a host, but my ISP (AT&T) blocks all the major ports like 80 and 21. So even though i can open them on my router, its useless because AT&T blocks it. Is there a way around this?

And is my ftp address the public ip address or my private ip address my router gives when I open ports?

As for the software I wanted to use IIS, but not really sure how to go about that. I also have a free domain and software from http://dyn.com/dns/. I also have apache installed, but that's a hassle. lol

domedia
09-01-2011, 09:40 PM
Your home computer is not made for being a web server :)

designer_282
09-01-2011, 09:48 PM
Your home computer is not made for being a web server :)

Then how do I turn it into one?

dbepp
09-02-2011, 02:10 PM
Then how do I turn it into one?

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/server/download

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfNddNXDM5g