PDA

View Full Version : Save Assets, Websites don't update?


youdw
08-16-2011, 11:09 PM
I used to make changes to the assets in the Library and they would ask me to update the Websites that were associated with them. Now they don't do that. How do I get it back where when I adjust one item, the items associated with that or linked to will update as well??

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 12:41 AM
What has changed?

youdw
08-17-2011, 03:12 PM
That's the point. Nothing has changed. But nobody here can tell me how to turn this feature on and off?

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 04:57 PM
Are you sure you aren't talking about Snippets? What exactly are you editing?

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 05:10 PM
Assets are limited to the images, etc. that are in the current site so editing an Asset would affect only the current site. Snippets are saved chunks of code that you can insert in a page but editing a snippet doesn't update pages where that snippet was previously used.

youdw
08-17-2011, 05:54 PM
In my Assets is a Library where holds all of my links for all of my different webpages. I sometimes update some of my links and expect the links associated with my webpages to change when I make changes to the links.

I did nothing to change this feature. I even tried uninstalling and reinstalling the program, but now the changes to the links do not update on the webpages associated with them. I even deleted the links from the webpages and redragged the link assets to the page, but still no webpage updates made when I change the links.

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 06:16 PM
What you're wanting doesn't apply to all Assets but only to Library Items within the Assets palette.

To create a Library Item, select the part of the page you want to make a Library Item and choose the Modify>Library>Add Object to Library menu options. (or you can simply drag the selection into the Library Items tab in the Assets palette.

To add a Library Item to a page drag it from the Library Items tag in the Assets palette.

youdw
08-17-2011, 07:48 PM
Nevermind. I apparently cannot get any of my questions answered on this site! It's like nobody knows Dreamweaver or the errors that beginners come across. Thanks for trying to help me anyway.

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 08:13 PM
You just got your answer. We can't make the program work the way you want it to.

youdw
08-17-2011, 09:44 PM
No I got An answer. But not the answer to my question. No worries. I found answers from another site I plan to visit from now on.

DWcourse
08-17-2011, 09:59 PM
If you found an answer, why not share it?

youdw
08-17-2011, 11:26 PM
It was really simple unlike your answer. Modify, Library, Update Pages. Also doing a new page and dragging assets in worked as well.