PDA

View Full Version : What is the correct process for maintaining a website's files?

MrSnrub
06-29-2011, 02:41 PM
I'm a total novice to web development, and I don't fully understand the recommended process for maintaining a website's files. I load up my brand new copy of Dreamweaver for the first time, go to Site --> New Site, create a new site with a name of, say, Web Site and a local location of C:\website\. Then I go to Servers and click the plus sign and add a remote server and a testing server. After that, the Files panel appears with the contents of my website, and I click on the down arrow ("Get files from 'Web Site'"), it prompts me "Are you sure you wish to get the entire site?", which I do because this is my initial setup. So this takes about a day or so and then I'm finally ready to start with the day-to-day tasks of maintaining my website, which I assume can go six possible ways:

1. External users can add new files to the website, causing new files to appear in the remote site that are not in my local c:\website folder.
2. External users can delete files on the website, causing files that are on my local c:\website folder that have no match on my remote site.
3. External users can modify existing content on the website, causing the files in c:\website to become outdated.
4. I can add new files to c:\website, causing files that are on my local c:\website folder that have no match on my remote site.
5. I can modify existing files in c:\website, causing the files on the website to be outdated.
6. I can modify a file in c:\website and an external user can modify the live version of the same file, causing a conflict.