PDA

View Full Version : Gettting a dynamic number from Excel into HTML

TraderVic
06-22-2011, 06:32 PM
I'm not a web designer so please excuse my ignorance. I'm looking to learn enough to hire a freelancer but I don't know what skills that freelancer would need.

We're a financial firm and we've created some custom stock market indexes. We have a web site that we're pretty happy with but we want to add these custom stock market indexes to our site. We calculate them in real time using Excel. Each custom index is always in the same Excel cell. We'd be happy with the values being updated every few seconds on the site.

What tool would a designer use to get that value in, say, cell C7 of Excel into a particular cell of a table on our home page? PHP? Javascript?
Something else?

Where can I learn enough to intelligently hire a freelancer?

How much do the experts think we'd have to pay for this?

Once the code is written would it be easy for us to add additional indexes to our site once they're being calculated in Excel? We're pretty good at cutting and pasting HTML once it's written. We have basic HTML editing capabilities so we're not complete idiots.

Where does the Excel spreadsheet reside? On our computer? The hosting server? Either is fine although having it on the server seems to present fewer problems.

Some of our custom indexes use options and we get those option prices from a professional option data vendor. We grab the option prices from that service and put into Excel, again in real time, in order to calculate these custom indexes. How would that effect things?

Any help would be appreciated.

m1a2x3x7
06-23-2011, 03:44 PM
How is this data getting entered into Excel?

I would suggest saving the Excel file out as a .csv file and then uploading it and have a script parse it and store the info into a database.