PDA

View Full Version : Can someone test my site and help me with some bugs?

SaveMyi
06-16-2011, 01:24 AM
My site: http://www.savemyi.com/home.html , is having some issues... First of all, this is my first time learning and making a website. So I am totally new here. Now, I have blue lines outlining several of my images on internet explorer. I also noticed that the background isn't fitting to the whole window. Can you guys help me fix that and also help me out by testing it on your web browsers? I appreciate it so much! Thanks!!!

-Coded on mac with Dreamweaver CS5. Tested on Safari.

*edit* I found how to fix the blue boarder. But the rest I still need help on. Also, do you guys like the design of my site? It's still in beta, but I'd like some opinions. :)

domedia
06-16-2011, 03:06 AM
I think the design is nice, maybe a tad dark for my liking, but everything seems to work together. As a first website I think it looks great.

That being said, this is not a website in the true meaning of a website. You've put together some images and linked some of them. There no text or accessibility for assisted technologies, machines or search engines.

johnMoss
06-16-2011, 03:17 AM
I'll agree, for a first site you've done good. BUT.... :( your code is a mess....
For starters you've got a rogue h1 tag at line 187 or so wreaking havoc on your flow. Validation is a great tool to use to catch yourself on errors. Go to http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_input and paste your html into it. Don't fret, you'll see a big pile of errors, many of which will disappear upon removal of the h1. Start with this, and it'll help a bunch.

domedia
06-16-2011, 03:35 AM
Just a little word of wisdom here (I can say this now because I will soon be ancient in web designer years ;-) )