PDA

View Full Version : nav bar menu displays differently on different computer

adgal
06-14-2011, 10:42 PM
Hi,
I'm relatively new to Dreamweaver, but have designed and produced a few sites. In the nav bar I have created, the last two menu items (philosophy & contacts) do not appear on my client's browser but I can see them in mine. www.lischwecounseling.com
Since it all looks fine on my 4 computers, 3 Macs + Windows, I have had to go back to the client to test the site repeatedly. Would like to find a solution soon since this has been embarrassing! Thank you!

johnMoss
06-14-2011, 11:40 PM
Off topic, but shoot down to line 239 & thereabouts & fix your break tags. They should all look like <br /> instead of <br>...

I tested the site all the way down to IE 5.5 & it works every step of the way so don't feel bad. But what exactly is happening? Is the menu shoved over, or just those two text fields don't display i.e. everything is in it's proper place?

DWcourse
06-15-2011, 12:08 AM
Your client apparently has the text size in his browser set larger than normal. With larger type you navigation menu wraps to a second line which is hidden behind the "helping you find the way forward" banner. If you look close you are probably also losing some text in the left column on his machine.

It's a design issue that is at least partly caused by using absolutely positioned elements with set heights in your layout.

adgal
06-15-2011, 12:41 AM
Thanks very much for your input. Menus are shoved over to the right--not in their proper places. I will fix the <br/> tags also.

Sounds like absolute positioning is not a good way to go? I started in Illustrator and made slices out of my design. I thought it would be easier if I used math to create a puzzle. Do you have a better suggestion?

Corrosive
06-15-2011, 07:06 AM
Do you have a better suggestion?

Yep, don't :)